Skip to main content

APA 6th edition: Books

Books

Book with one author (Clearly APA: The NorQuest Guide to APA Style, p.53)

Balzer-Riley, J. W.  (2012). Communication in nursing. St. Louis, MO: Elsevier/Mosby.

 

Book (edition) with up to seven authors 

Sommers, M. S., Johnson, S. A., & Beery, T. A. (2007). Diseases and disorders: A nursing therapeutics manual (3rd ed.). Philadelphia, PA: F.A. Davis Co.

 

Book (edition) with eight or more authors or editors (Clearly APA: The NorQuest Guide to APA Style, pp. 55-56)

Potter, P. A., Perry, A. G., Stockert, P. A., Hall, A. M., Ross-Kerr, J. C., Wood, M. J., … Duggleby, W. (Eds.). (2014). Canadian fundamentals of nursing (5th ed.). Toronto, ON: Mosby/Elsevier Canada.

 

Book with no author (Clearly APA: The NorQuest Guide to APA Style, p. 54)

Merriam-Webster’s collegiate dictionary (11th ed.). (2003). Springfield, MA: Merriam-Webster.

 

Book by a group author as publisher (company, association, institution, government) (Clearly APA: The NorQuest Guide to APA Style, p.56)

NorQuest College. (2004). Artikulayshun: LSS voices: A poetry anthology. Edmonton AB: Author.

Book with author(s) and editor(s) 

Veague, H. B. (2007). Schizophrenia. C. Collins (Ed.). New York, NY: Infobase Publishing.

 

Book with editor(s) instead of author (Clearly APA: the NorQuest Guide to APA Style, p. 54, 65)

Harkreader, H., & Hogan, M. A. (Eds.). (2004). Fundamentals of nursing: Caring and clinical judgment (2nd ed.). St. Louis, MO: Saunders.

Chapter, article, essay, story, or poem in a collection or edited book (Clearly APA: the NorQuest Guide to APA Style, p. 61-63)

McCance, K. L., Grey, T. C., & Rodway, G. (2014). Altered cellular and tissue biology. In K. L. McCance, S. E. Huether, V. L. Brashers, & N. S. Rote (Eds.), Pathophysiology: The biologic basis for disease in adults and children (7th ed., pp. 49-102). St. Louis, MO: Mosby Elsevier.

Book with reprinted material from a magazine in a collection 

Gladwell, M. (2017). None of the above: What I.Q. doesn't tell you about race. In L. Buzzard, D. LePan, N. Ruddock, & A. Stewart (Eds.), The Broadview anthology of expository prose (3rd Canadian ed., pp. 412-419). Peterborough, ON: Broadview Press. (Reprinted from The New Yorker Magazine, 2007, December 17)

 

Book with reprinted material from a journal in a collection 

Milgram, S. (2017). Behavioral study of obedience. In L. Buzzard, D. LePan, N. Ruddock, & A. Stewart (Eds.), The Broadview anthology of expository prose (3rd Canadian ed., pp. 137-147). Peterborough, ON: Broadview Press. (Reprinted from Journal of Abnormal and Social Psychology, 1963, 67(4))

 

Book with reprinted material from a book in a collection 

Showalter, E. (2017). Representing Ophelia: Women, madness, and the responsibilities of feminist criticism. In L. Buzzard, D. LePan, N. Ruddock, & A. Stewart (Eds.), The Broadview anthology of expository prose (3rd Canadian ed., pp. 250-265). Peterborough, ON: Broadview Press. (Reprinted from Shakespeare and the question of theory. London: Methuen & Co., 1985)

Encyclopedia entry, author known 

Hoag, H. M. (2012). Piriformis syndrome. In B. Narins (Ed.), The Gale encyclopedia of neurological disorders (2nd ed., Vol. 2, pp. 857–859). Detroit, MI: Gale.

 

Encyclopedia entry, author unknown 

Piano (2005). In The new encyclopedia Britannica (15th ed., Vol. 9, p. 416). Chicago. IL: Encyclopedia Britannica.

Book in more than one volume 

McGrath, K. A. (Ed.). (2001). World of physics (Vols. 1–2). Detroit, MI: Gale Group.

Loading ...

How-to Videos: How to format book references

Book Reference

Learn how to format references for whole books, including both authored books and edited books.

Academic Writer

© 2016 American Psychological Association.

Book Chapter Reference

Learn how to format references for chapters in edited books, meaning those books where each chapter is written by a different author (cite the whole book if the same author has written all chapters).

Academic Writer

© 2016 American Psychological Association.