Skip to main content

APA 6th edition: Online Articles

Online Articles

Journal article from a library database (Clearly APA: The NorQuest Guide to APA Style, p. 70)

Tija, J., Givens, J., & Shea, J. (2005). Factors associated with undertreatment of medical student depression. Journal of American College Health, 53(5), 219–224. Retrieved from http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost

 

Journal article with a DOI (digital object identifier) (Clearly APA: The NorQuest Guide to APA Style, p. 70)

Wood, P., Schweinhardt, P., Jaeger, E., Dagher, A., Hakyemez, H., Rabiner, E. A.,… Chizh, B. A. (2007). Fibromyalgia patients show an abnormal dopamine response to pain. European Journal of Neuroscience, 25(12), 3576-3582. doi:10.1111/j.1460-9568.2007.05623.x

 

Magazine article from a library database 

Drapeau, M. M. (2012, November). The Canadian Forces and PTSD: One step forward, two steps back. Esprit De Corps, 19(10), 40–59. Retrieved from http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost

Journal article on a website, NOT from a library database (Clearly APA: The NorQuest Guide to APA Style, p. 59-61, pp. 59-61)

Smith, M., Lennon, M. A., Brook, A. H., & Robinson, P. G. (2006). A randomized controlled trial of outreach placement’s effect on dental students’ clinical confidence. Journal of Dental Education, 70(5), 566–570. Retrieved from http://www.jdentaled.org/content/vol70/issue5/

 

Journal article with a DOI (digital object identifier) (Clearly APA: The NorQuest Guide to APA Style, p. 59-61, pp. 59-61)

Wood, P., Schweinhardt, P., Jaeger, E., Dagher, A., Hakyemez, H., Rabiner, E. A.,… Chizh, B. A. (2007). Fibromyalgia patients show an abnormal dopamine response to pain. European Journal of Neuroscience, 25(12), 3576-3582. doi:10.1111/j.1460-9568.2007.05623.x

 

Newspaper or Magazine article, online version, NOT from a library database 

Sinnema, J. (2008, November 19). A long, difficult journey from high-school dropout to doctorate. Edmonton Journal. Retrieved from http://www.canada.com/‌edmontonjournal/

Encyclopedia entry, author known 

Hoag, H. M. (2012). Piriformis syndrome. In B. Narins (Ed.), The Gale encyclopedia of neurological disorders (2nd ed., Vol. 2, pp. 857–859). Retrieved from http://find.galegroup.com/gps/start.do?prodld=IPS&userGroupName=edmo88243

 

Encyclopedia entry, author unknown

Piano. (2005). In The new encyclopedia Britannica (15th ed., Vol. 9, p. 416). Retrieved from http://find.galegroup.com/gps/start.do?prodld=IPS&userGroupName=edmo88243

 

Online encyclopedia, NOT from a library database 

Emily Carr. (n.d.). In The Canadian encyclopedia.  Retrieved from http://www.thecanadianencyclopedia.ca/en/article/emily-carr/

Conference paper from a website 

Lopez-Acuña, D., Pittman, P., Gomez, P. Machado de Souza, H., & López Fernández, L. A. (2000, June). Reorienting health systems and services with health promotion criteria: A critical component of health sector reforms (Original Version). Paper presented at the Fifth Global Conference on Health Promotion, Mexico City, Mexico. Retrieved from http://www.bvsde.paho.org/bvsacd/cd26/fulltexts/0564.pdf

Loading ...

How to Cite Database Articles

If there is no DOI (digital object identifier), cite from the database using the home page (entry page) URL of the appropriate NorQuest database provider below:

Ebsco databases:

Retrieved from http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost

Gale databases:

Retrieved from http://find.galegroup.com/gps/start.do?prodld=IPS&userGroupName=edmo88243

ProQuest databases:

Retrieved from http://proquest.umi.com/pqdweb?RQT=302&COPT=REJTPUcwJklOVD0wJlZFUj0y&clientId=59668&cfc=1

 

If it is a web-based (not library subscription database) online journal article, cite the home page of the journal:

Retrieved from http://www.jdentaled.org/

(NOTE: no retrieval date required)

*If you have to divide a URL between lines, split it BEFORE any punctuation and do not add a hyphen. (Publication Manual, p. 192)

Database & Journal FAQs

​Database and Journal FAQs

  1. What is a journal? [Answer]
     
  2. Why should I use journals instead of websites? [Answer]
     
  3. Where do I find journals? [Answer]
     
  4. What is a library database? [Answer]
     
  5. How can I find journal articles on my topic? [Answer]
     
  6. What does ‘peer-reviewed’ mean? [Answer]
     
  7. What does ‘evidence-based’ mean? [Answer]
     
  8. Are there good sources of information other than journal articles? [Answer]