Skip to main content

APA 6th edition: What Goes Where?

What Goes Where in APA References

For entire book or ebook:

Author, A. A. (year). Title of book: Subtitle of book. Location: Publisher.

Author, A. A. (year). Title of ebook: Subtitle of ebook. Retrieved from http:.www.xxxxxxx

Editor, A. A. (Ed,). (year). Title of book: Subtitle of book (xx ed., Vol. xx). Location: Publisher.

 

For a chapter in a book/ebook or article in encyclopedia:

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (year). Title of chapter or article. Title of book: Subtitle of book (pp. xxx-xxx). Location: Publisher.

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (year). Title of chapter or article. Title of ebook: Subtitle of ebook (pp. xxx-xxx). Retrieved from http://www.xxxxx

For more information please see pages 61- 63 of Clearly APA: The Norquest Guide to APA Style.

 

For a chapter in an edited book/ebook or article in an encyclopedia:

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (year). Title of chapter or article. In A. Editor, B. Editor, & C. Editor (Eds.), Title of book: Subtitle of book (pp. xxx-xxx). Location: Publisher.

Author, A. A., & Author, B. B. (year). Title of chapter or article. In A. Editor, B. Editor, & C. Editor (Eds.), Title of ebook: Subtitle of ebook (pp. xxx-xxx). Retrieved from http://www.xxxxx

For more information please see pages 61- 63 of Clearly APA: The Norquest Guide to APA Style.

 

No author:

Title of chapter or article. (year). In A. Editor, B. Editor, & C. Editor (Eds.), Title of book: Subtitle of book (xx ed., Vol. xx, pp. xxx-xxx). Location: Publisher.

Title of chapter or article. (year). In A. Editor, B. Editor, & C. Editor (Eds.), Title of ebook: Subtitle of ebook (xx ed., Vol. xx, pp. xxx-xxx). Retrieved from http://www.xxxx

 

Indigenous Elder or Knowledge Keeper: NorQuest Library has noted that the formal APA style does not have a format for Indigenous Elders and Knowledge Keepers so we have developed this citation style in the spirit of wahkôhtowin and reconciliation. Unlike other personal communications, Elders and Knowledge Keepers should be cited in-text and in the reference list.

Cardinal, D. Goodfish Lake Cree Nation. Treaty 6. Lives in Edmonton. Oral teaching. personal communication. April 4, 2004.

Journal article - online or from a library database:

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (year). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume(issue), page numbers. doi:xxxxx

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (year). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume(issue), page numbers. Retrieved from http://www.xxxx

 

Journal article - in print:

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (year). Title of article. Title of Journal, volume(issue), page numbers.

 

Magazine article - online or from a library database:

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (year, Month). Title of article. Title of Magazine, volume(issue), page numbers. Retrieved from http://www.xxxx

 

Magazine article - in print:

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (year, Month). Title of article. Title of Magazine, volume(issue), page numbers.

 

Newspaper article - online or from a library database:

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (year, Month day). Title of article. Title of Newspaper, pp. xx-xx. Retrieved from http://www.xxxx

 

Newspaper article - in print:

Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (year, Month day). Title of article. Title of Newspaper, pp. xx-xx.

 

No author:

Title of article. (year, Month day). Title of Newspaper, pp. xx-xx. Retrieved from http://www.xxxx

 

For more information please see pages 59-61 of Clearly APA: The Norquest Guide to APA Style.

Website of an association, government department, institution, group, etc.:

Name of association, government department, institution, group. (year). Title of webpage. Retrieved from http://www.xxxx

For more information please see page 64 of Clearly APA: The Norquest Guide to APA Style.

 

Website with no identifiable author:

Title of webpage. (year). Retrieved from http://www.xxxx

 

NOTE: Be aware that having too many citations with no author or date is not considered to be reliable, credible information.

Figure reprinted from a journal:

Creator, A. A. (Contribution). (year). Title of figure [Format]. In Title of article. Title of Journal, volume(issue), page number. Retrieved from http://www.xxxx

 

Figure reprinted from a book:

Creator, A. A. (Contribution). (year). Title of figure [Format]. In Title of Book. Location: Publisher

 

Figure reprinted from a website:

Creator, A. A. (Contribution). (year). Title of figure [Format]. Reprinted from Title of website. Retrieved from http://www.xxxx

 

Figure reprinted from a website with no creator, no date, no title:

[Description of image]. (n.d.). [Type of Work]. Retrieved from URL of website

Table reprinted from a website:

Author. (year). Title [Table]. Reprinted from Name of website. Retrieved from http://url

Loading ...

Authors(s), Editors(s) or Creator(s)

Author(s)’ last name and initials only.

Use editor(s) name(s) if no author (encyclopedias, textbooks) followed by (Ed.) or (Eds.) then (year of publication). 

e.g.: Smith, J. A. (Ed.) (2012).

In artistic works, use the creator(s) name(s) and include the contribution (photographer, artist, producer, etc.)

Authorship is given to the party most responsible for the creation of the information. Sometimes that is a corporation, institution, government body, etc.

More than one author? See Citing Multiple Authors' Names

If no author, cite the title first, then the date.

For more information please see Part 5 of Clearly APA: The Norquest Guide to APA Style starting on page 53 under the heading 'Author names in References page'.

Date

(Year) of publication only for books, ebooks, journal articles, websites

(Year, Month) for magazines and (Year, Month day) for newspaper articles

(n.d.) for no date

For more information please see page 56 of Clearly APA: The Norquest Guide to APA Style under the heading 'Publication year'.

Titles

Book or ebook title: italics, capitalize first word of title and subtitle and proper nouns only

Chapter in a book or ebook: NO italics, capitalize first word of title and subtitle and proper nouns only

Journal or magazine or newspaper title: italics, capitalize all major words and proper nouns

Article title in journal or magazine or newspaper: NO italics, capitalize first word of title and subtitle and proper nouns only

For more information please see pages 57-58 of Clearly APA: The Norquest Guide to APA Style.

Editions

Books or ebooks may be a specific edition.  If so, this statement is not italicized, comes in parentheses after the title of the book/ebook, and the word edition is abbreviated i.e.: (4th ed.). If it is a Canadian edition, the word Canadian is spelled out, i.e.: (Canadian ed.). If it is a revised edition use (Rev. ed.).

For more information please see page 62 of Clearly APA: The NorQuest Guide to APA Style under the heading 'Additional Information'.

Volumes and Issues

Books or ebooks (Encyclopedias): Put the volume number (Vol.) that you are using in parentheses after the title, followed by the page numbers that you used, e.g.: (Vol. 9, p. 416). Use pp. for more than one page, e.g.: (Vol 10, pp. 358-366). If there is also an edition, that precedes the volume number, e.g.: (15th ed., Vol. 9, pp. 255-301).

Journals (sometimes magazines and newspapers): Start with the journal title then the volume number, both in italics, then no space, then issue number NOT in italics in parenthesescomma and the page numbers, e.g.: Title of Journal, 44(3), 234-456.

Use Vol. for books or ebooks but NOT for journals or magazines.

For more information please see pages 59-60 of Clearly APA: The NorQuest Guide to APA Style beginning with the heading 'Volume number'.

Page Numbers

For books, ebooks and newspapers use p. for a single page, and pp. for succession of pages, e.g.: pp. 312-322.

For journal and magazine articles use only the number(s) of pages, e.g.: 223-475.

For more information please see pages 60 and 62 of Clearly APA: The NorQuest Guide to APA Style under the heading 'Page Numbers'.

Publisher & Location

Print books include the city of publication, two letter abbreviation for the province or state followed by a colon and space then name of publisher, e.g.: Philadelphia, PA: F. A. Davis Co.

If the publisher is also the author (often an association or institution), use place of publication followed by the word ‘Author’, e.g.: NorQuest College. (2004). Artikulayshun: LSS voices: A poetry anthology. Edmonton, AB: Author.

For more information please see pages 62-63 of Clearly APA: The NorQuest Guide to APA Style beginning under the heading 'Place of Publication'.

URL or DOI

Journal articles have recently been assigned a number called a doi or digital object identifier that is unique to that one article.  If there is a doi in the article information use it.

If there is no doi, or if it is an ebook, magazine or newspaper article found using a library database, cite the appropriate URL found on the APA 6 Research Guide under the Online Articles or Ebooks tabs.

If it is a website, or ebook, journal, magazine or newspaper found online NOT through a library database, use the URL preceded by a ‘Retrieved from’ statement, e.g.: Retrieved from http://www.jdentaled.org

If a URL is extremely long, and the website is archived and searchable, give the URL of the homepage only.

Do NOT use a period after a doi or URL.

For more information please see page 60 for DOI content and pages 60-61 for URL content of Clearly APA: The NorQuest Guide to APA Style.