It’s that time of year again when our students cross the stage and embark upon the next chapter of their professional or academic journey. NorQuest College Library is pleased to support their life-long learning, leisure, and personal development by providing ongoing access to books and other physical items. With an alumni library account, grads may borrow up to 30 items at once. Alumni access lasts for a period of 5 years.

To get started, alumni will need to: 

1. Contact the Alumni Relations Office at alumni@norquest.ca to obtain a verification letter (may take up to 5 days to process) 
2. Show proof of alumni status to library staff in the Learner Centre 
3. Choose whether they would like a new card or use their public library card
4. Speak to library staff if they have any questions about their library account

It isn’t hard to see why the Reserve Collection is among of the Library’s most well-used services. Whether it is the case that students are waiting for their purchased textbooks to arrive, their textbooks are too heavy to bring to campus, or they simply cannot afford to buy all their required materials, demand for the required textbooks provided through the Reserve Collection is never in short supply. Until now, this service was only available to students who can physically visit the Edmonton downtown campus. To better serve our distance and regional students, the library is pleased to announce the Distance Reserve Pilot Project!

The Distance Reserve Pilot Project will allow students to request required materials and receive them by mail at no cost. Like the on-campus Reserve Collection, the loan period is reduced to accommodate high demand. Although a successful pilot may result in expansion to other program areas, the Distance Reserve Service is only available to distance and regional PN students at this time. The materials selected for the pilot are seven high-use textbooks.

Learn more about this service and how it can benefit your students here: https://tinyurl.com/distancereserves

Your library colleagues have been working on some developments that will make the Intro to APA online course more consistent and user friendly for you to include in your courses! We have created a self-enrolled Moodle course that will be badged and managed by us, featuring the online Intro to APA. This way, you can simply put the link to our course into your Moodle course. We will be troubleshooting any issues with the course and now students will have a way to show that they have completed the lessons for any future courses.  

Key Advantages for Instructors: 

• No scorm file management 

• Self-enrollment is open to everyone 

• Completion badges that students can share with you 

• Less chance of overlap between courses (nobody wants to take a course twice!)

• No APA course troubleshooting for you!

Please share this enrollment link with your students: https://myclass.norquest.ca/course/view.php?id=20423

Please note that some small updates have been made to the course as part of this process, so we encourage you to delete any older SCORM files you may have embedded for the Intro to APA and replace them with the enrollment link above.  Invite your students to demonstrate their completion of the course by sharing their badge as an upload to Moodle or via email.

We will also be working to make the Introduction to Misinformation course of the same caliber so that information literacy can be easily embedded in your courses. We are excited to share our expertise and provide opportunities for learners to strengthen their critical thinking skills! 

Please let us know if you have any questions or wish to share our enthusiasm for collaboration 😊  

Stories and human connections are a way to build understanding and empathy while challenging harmful stereotypes, discrimination, and marginalization. The Living Library is an event where experiences and ideas are shared in a safe space.

Join us from November 28–30 in-person and online for this unique event. Registration is required and space is limited – learn more and sign up today on the Living Library site.

The NorQuest College Library is happy to offer a trial of new resources from Credo.  These items will be available until November 27th, 2022.  Please submit any feedback to library@norquest.ca

Credo InfoLit Core & HS

Information Literacy - Core addresses the growing needs of librarians, faculty, and students, providing high-quality, standards-aligned instructional materials on information literacy and critical thinking skills. Information Literacy - Core is designed for supplementing your classroom instruction, online teaching, and student remediation needs. Information Literacy HS presents information literacy materials focused on health sciences.

Link to Credo InfoLit Core

Link to Credo InfoLit HS

Credo Reference

Link to Credo Reference

The library is currently undertaking an evaluation of the streaming health videos collection with the goal of modernizing our offerings to reflect current curricula. We are seeking feedback from instructors in your department.  As subject matter experts, you are ideally positioned to recognize and recommend quality, relevant streaming health-focused content that could be added to library offerings.  We are happy to investigate subscriptions, arrange trials, and negotiate with vendors – we just need suggestions for content to pursue.

If you are aware of any streaming videos, video collections, or video providers (vendors) that you would like us to investigate for the collection, please send Leah Townsend an email with the details.  
Our current major health video collections are:

• Mosby's Nursing Video Skills - Basic Skills, Intermediate Skills,  Advanced Skills
•  Lippincott's Video Series For Nursing Assistants
• NorQuest College Health Assessment Videos
• Films on Demand : over 5,600 health-related videos on a variety of topics
• Individually selected videos hosted on McIntyre: Alzheimers disease for assisted living, Beginnings of life (fetal development), Cardiac auscultation series, Caring for the caregiver, How the body ages series, Into the other lane: driving and dementia, Keeping babies healthy and safe, Pregnancy labour and delivery series, Nursing assessment of the newborn, The urinary system, Ventricular fibrillation, Wound care series

Thank you very much for all your ideas!

Come browse our display of Indigenous authors, located next to the world languages collection.

We are providing two options for tours for Fall term - you can do a self-guided tour on your own with provided materials or you can book a guided tour through your liaison librarian.

1. Instructors are welcome to lead their students on a tour using our supplied materials. These include talking points of various areas of interest in the Learner Centre and handouts of interest for different program areas. All materials are available in this shared folder and can be downloaded and printed.
We require that instructors who want to conduct a self-guided tour email the Library in advance so we are aware that larger groups will be stopping in. In the email include your course name, number of students, and window of time that you will be coming in your email.
Please do not forget to let us know ahead of time that you will be arriving as it allows us and our colleagues in Tutorial and Academic Coaching Services to best prepare for your visit.

2. Guided tours will be available on request through your program area's liaison librarian - if you don't know who your liaison librarian is, you can find them listed here. Send them an email with your course name, program area, number of students, and at least two times/dates that will work for your class. Guided tours are scheduled for a half hour time frame. If there are specific items or resources you would like the librarian to go over, please also include that in your email.

We hope to see you in the Learner Centre soon! For questions or more information, please get in touch with the Student Engagement Librarian.

Has your team recently welcomed new staff? Feeling out of the loop on library services? Let’s connect! Librarians are available to join faculty team meetings to answer questions and deliver a brief presentation on what the library can do for faculty, their students, and their classes. Request a visit by emailing library@norquest.ca with your preferred dates and times, your faculty, and any other details that will help us tailor our visit to your needs. 

Prefer to meet individually? Click here to request a one-on-one chat with your Liaison Librarian.

Learn more about library services for faculty in our Quick Guide.

The library has created a new online learning object available for students who want to move beyond research basics.  Research as Communication and Conversation is a short, interactive ebook made using the open access Pressbooks tool.  The ebook expands on basic research skills by looking at the iterative process of both academic and student research, and exploring the roles of students, instructors, and researchers in the scholarly conversation. 

Please view the ebook here: https://openeducationalberta.ca/researchasconversationandcommunication/

It is also linked on our library tutorials page: https://library.norquest.ca/find.aspx#Find-Tutorials

Please feel free to share this new resource with students, instructors, and anyone else who might find it interesting or useful.