Research Guides: Chemistry: Chemistry for University Transfer

Use the navigation on the left to find resources to deepen your understanding of the key concepts in chemistry.

Database: online searchable collection of scholarly information and journals

Journal: publication of scholarly articles sharing research findings in a particular discipline

Find academic books, and search for published scholarly research using our library subscription databases.

Chemistry: A Molecular Approach
A General Chemistry Textmap constructed to supplant Nivaldo Tro's textbook
The Hazard Symbols of WHMIS
Hazardous Substance Assessment by Chemical Name
Technical documents that describe the classification of chemicals in the different hazard classes.
The Periodic Table
This modern version of the Periodic Table has a short video about each chemical element.
Measurements in Chemistry

Chemistry videos
Western science and Indigenous science
Chemistry Videos by Professor Dave Explains
5-10 min videos on Chemistry concepts

Academic Search Complete & Elite

Leading resource for scholarly research in key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.
JSTOR Essential Collection

A leading scholarly database that includes journals, books, and primary sources.
BioMed Central

A pioneer of open access publishing, BMC has an evolving portfolio of high quality peer-reviewed journals including broad interest titles such as BMC Biology and BMC Medicine.

Journal of Chemistry
Journal of Chemistry publishes papers on all aspects of fundamental and applied chemistry.
Canadian Journal of Chemistry
It includes the traditional areas of analytical, inorganic, organic, and physical-theoretical chemistry and newer interdisciplinary areas such as materials science, spectroscopy, chemical physics, and biological, medicinal and environmental chemistry.
BMC Chemistry
Open access, peer reviewed journal that publishes in the diverse field of chemistry, ranging from organic, inorganic and physical chemistry to medicinal and analytical contributions, as well as articles covering chemistry in the fields of environment and energy, materials and macromolecules, agriculture and food, and green and sustainable processes.