NorQuest Library Basics

Start Here:

Research

Write

Cite

Is this your first time using APA Citation Style? Start with our Intro to APA online course. Click below for Part One.

Avoiding Plagiarism

The best way to avoid plagiarism is to cite your sources in the body of your work and in your bibliography or reference list. Avoid plagiarism by:

• learning how to document and cite your sources properly.
• handing in your own work.
• paraphrasing, or putting the ideas of others into your own words and using a citation.
• using quotation marks and an in-text citation when you copy the words of someone else.
• always giving credit to sources you use in your research.

Learn more about avoiding plagiarism:

Citing sources that you find online can be a little different than when you use a book.  We've put some frequently asked questions below.  Simply click on the question to see the answer.

How is citing an online resource different than a book or other print resources? 

What is a DOI? I thought I only needed the URL. 

How do I cite this website if I can't find the author or date? 

How do I cite videos or podcasts that I get online? 

These tools can help you document and organize your references.

*Be sure to check computer-generated citations for accuracy with the Library's APA or MLA online guide!

​Database and Journal FAQs

1. What is a journal? [Answer]

   When your instructors tell you to use journals, they don’t mean the Edmonton Journal. A journal is basically a magazine that is published by a professional group, such as The Journal of the American Medical Association or The Canadian Journal of Nursing Research.

   The articles in journals are based on research. If you were ill in the hospital, would you want nurses and doctors taking care of you that learned their profession from journals? or from magazines such as Chatelaine, and/or any websites?

    [hide answer]
   
    
2. Why should I use journals instead of websites? [Answer]

   There are some excellent websites with good, current, reliable information. But there are many more websites that do not have good, current, reliable information. Anybody can put anything on the World Wide Web.

   Before articles are published in journals, they are reviewed for credibility. The author of an article will have credentials that can be checked by the publisher. Do you know the credentials of the people who publish most websites?

   Websites from some government departments or agencies and from professional associations are usually considered reliable.

    [hide answer]
   
    
3. Where do I find journals? [Answer]

   These days most journals are published both in print and online. Libraries pay a subscription for their users to access online journals through databases. You can then search these databases by going to the library website.

    [hide answer]
   
    
4. What is a library database? [Answer]

   A library database is basically a collection of online journals and e-books and sometimes online videos. Some databases cover general subject matter; some are very specific to a particular field of study.

    [hide answer]
   
    
5. How can I find journal articles on my topic? [Answer]
   Journal articles can be found in the library's databases. Find out more, including how to search our databases, check out these short video tutorials. [hide answer]
   
    
6. What does ‘peer-reviewed’ mean? [Answer]
   ‘Peer-reviewed’, and ‘refereed’ articles are those scholarly articles that are reviewed by a group of experts in the subject before that article is accepted for publication. [hide answer]
   
    
7. What does ‘evidence-based’ mean? [Answer]
   ‘Evidence-based’ means that a theory or practice is based on conclusions drawn from the evidence. This evidence is written about in articles in professional journals that present the findings of research, and is also taken from clinical expertise, and patient preferences. [hide answer]
   
    
8. Are there good sources of information other than journal articles? [Answer]
   Information in journals is current, credible and usually very specific to a particular topic. The professionals and experts who write journal articles often write or compile books as well. Some of these books end up being textbooks, but many can be found on the shelves in the Library, or online as e-books (electronic books). Library staff spend a lot of time checking the curriculum of various programs and finding and ordering books and e-books for the Library that deal with the topics covered in the curriculum. To find these books and e-books, go to the Library website. [hide answer]
   
    

If you are looking for journal articles on the internet (not using the library's website), you can use LibKey Nomad to help you find the full text of articles.

Read & Write Gold 11

Many people find that when they read their own writing, they miss their errors. Read and Write is a program that can help you spot your own errors and develop your writing skills at the same time.

Read and Write can read your writing aloud to you, which helps many people find errors in their writing. It can also help you identify correctly spelled but misused words and help you develop a vocabulary list, among other things.

The best part is that all computers on NorQuest College's downtown Edmonton campus have Read & Write installed, and all NorQuest students can get a copy to use on their own computer for free!

If you'd like more information, or would like to access your free copy of Read & Write, log in to Moodle for instructions!