Research Guides: Social Work Research Guide: Online Resources

STAR Test

A good assignment starts with quality information. You can evaluate the resources you find online using the STAR test, which evaluates websites on the following:

Who is the author?
Who is making the information available?
What are their credentials or qualifications?
What makes them an authority on this subject?
Is the source biased or expressing opinion or trying to sell something?
Choose sources that are credible and relatively objective.

When was the information published or last updated?
Does the date of publication matter to your assignment?
- For example, if you are working on a current event, or a science or health topic, you will need something that has been published recently.
If you are working on a historical topic, currency may not be as important.

Is the information free of spelling, grammatical and technical errors?
Where did the information come from?
Look for information or references that can be verified.

Is the information free of spelling, grammatical and technical errors?
Where did the information come from?
Look for information or references that can be verified.

Podcasts

2 Crees in a Pod - Podcast
2 Crees in a Pod, unapologetically creates space for Indigenous resurgence. Our intention is to disrupt western colonial systems and honor Indigenous helping practices.
more...less...
Hosts Dion and Suntjens both grew up in Indigenous communities, are around the same age, are both mothers, share a background in social work and now work in academia.
Podcasting Social Work
Podcasting Social Work by Dr. Hasan Mahbub is a platform for educators, learners, social workers, and activists to share your stories, knowledge and skills to empower communities and transform lives.
more...less...
The podcast episodes are focusing on various topics such as social, economic, cultural, and environment issues; and various social work practices to address poverty, marginalization and injustice across the world.
Moreover, the podcast episodes also focusing on teaching pedagogy, reflective practice, global citizenship, social justice and internationalization in higher education.

Websites

I Care A Lot: Accessible Resources & Services For Youth
As a part of our efforts in supporting other youth in government care like ourselves, we have put together this resource page that lists supports and services from all across our community. If you are in-need, chances are there is a resource here that might help.
Government of Canada Publications
Reports on many aspects of Canadian life, such as homelessness, poverty, health available through Search for a Publication. Most publications available free in electronic format.
Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives
The CCPA is an independent, non-partisan research institute concerned with issues of social and economic justice
Statistics Canada - Society and Community
Characteristics of Canadian society, including topics such as family, immigration, rural trends, social networks, time use, and gender-related differences.

Children & Youth

Canadian Child Welfare Research Portal
Provides access to up-to-date research on Canadian child welfare programs and policies.
Child & Family Canada
A Canadian public education website, which provides quality, credible resources on children and families.
Child Welfare League of Canada
A membership-based organization which is active in Canadian policy, research and advocacy in the area of child welfare. Contains access to new research and links to organizations involved in child welfare.
Resources for professionals: Stop family violence
Website with links to the publications put out by this Canadian government organization.
First Nations Child & Family Caring Society of Canada
This organization promotes research and spreading of information on aboriginial child rights and welfare. Site includes links to several publications.
Alberta Human Services - Children and Youth
Under the direction of the Minister, Human Services offers a range of programs and services for children and families.

Cultural Diversity & Inclusion

Canadian Race Relations Foundation
The Foundation, whose mission is to ensure equality among races in Canada, contains fact sheets on race issues, updates on race relations news in Canada, and a section where youth talk about their personal experiences of racism.
The Diversity Toolkit - University of Calgary
This site is part of a funded project to assist teachers, students, scholars or any activists who wish to promote equity and the acceptance of differences within schools and communities.

Health & Health Care

Health Canada Online
The website for Health Canada, the federal department responsible for helping people of Canada maintain and improve their health.
Public Health Agency of Canada
Links to government health services, agencies and information.
World Health Organization
WHO is involved in international health work, and the website contains internationally-focused articles and statistics on health issues.

Indigenous Resources

Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada Resources
The permanent home for all statements, documents, and other materials gathered by the Truth and Reconciliation Commission, including the TRC Calls to Action.
First Nations Child and Family Caring Society
This organization provides research, policy, professional development and networking support to help FNCFSA in caring for First Nations children, youth and families.
Bearpaw Legal Education & Resource Centre
BearPaw Legal Education & Resource Centre (BLERC) is a department of Native Counselling Service of Alberta (NCSA). Its primary mission is to develop and distribute materials designed to assist Aboriginal people in conflict with the law.
Alberta's First Nations Agencies
From the Ministry of Children's Services for Alberta, links to delegated First Nations child welfare agencies and services.
Metis Nation of Alberta
History, genealogy and other information is contained on this web site of Metis culture and history.
Indigenous Services Canada
Indigenous Services Canada (ISC) works collaboratively with partners to improve access to high quality services for First Nations, Inuit and Métis. Our vision is to support and empower Indigenous peoples to independently deliver services and address the socio-economic conditions in their communities.

Legislation & Policy

LGBTQ+

Egale Canada
Website for the national organization that "advances equality and justice" for lesbians, gays, and bisexuals. Contains a vast collection of news, articles and resources, and a summary of lesbian and gay rights in each jurisdiction in Canada.
International Gay and Lesbian Human Rights Commission
The mission of hte IGLHRC is to secure the full enjoyment of human rights of all peoples. Sites contains international news, resources, and urgent action items.
Parents, Families and Friends of Lesbians and Gays
Canadian organization that provides support and current news for gay men, lesbians, bisexuals, and their families.
YouthSafe
Youthsafe.net provides links to information and resources, in Alberta, for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transsexual (“LGBT”) people and allies. The website is focused on services for youth and young adults.
Pride Centre of Edmonton
The Pride Centre of Edmonton is a not-for-profit resource and community centre for the LGBTQ Community of Edmonton and the surrounding areas.

Persons with Disabilities

Government of Canada Disability Benefits
Hub for sources of disability-related benefit and assistance information.
Resources for People with Disabilities - City of Edmonton
Comprehensive list of links to organizations in the Edmonton area, Alberta, and Canada wide.
Council of Canadians with Disabilities
CCD is a national human rights organization of people with disabilities working for an accessible and inclusive Canada.
Inclusion Alberta
Inclusion Alberta is a family-based non-profit federation that advocates on behalf of children and adults with developmental disabilities and their families.

Sexism and Gender Equality

Gender-Based Analysis
GBA+ is an analytical process used to assess how diverse groups of women, men and non-binary people may experience policies, programs and initiatives. A "must-read" for social workers interested in analyzing social policy.
Status of Women in Canada
The federal government agency that promotes gender equality and works to improve women's economic automony and well-being, eliminating violence against women and children, and advancing women's human rights.
National Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls
National Inquiry investigating and reporting on the systemic causes of all forms of violence against Indigenous women and girls, including sexual violence.
Sexual Assault Centre of Edmonton - SACE
The Sexual Assault Centre of Edmonton (SACE) exists to support people impacted by sexual violence and engage communities to promote respect and uphold a culture of consent.
Women's Initiative of Edmonton
Women’s Initiative Edmonton is a City of Edmonton initiative, supported and endorsed by City Council, that fosters and promotes equality, opportunity, access to services, justice and inclusion for women.

Social Work Associations

Alberta College of Social Workers
Website with information and useful links for social workers in Alberta.
Canadian Association of Social Workers (CASW)
Web site for the association which is the regulatory body for the practice of social work in Alberta, containing legislation, services, publications, and resources. Under the subheading Practice is found the CASW Code of Ethics.
International Federation of Social Workers
Website for the organization which unites social workers in 55 different countries. Contains general information on the IFSW, policy papers, and the IFSW Code of Ethics.

NorQuest College Library

NorQuest College Library

Social Work Research Guide

Jump to:

Children & Youth

Cultural Diversity & Inclusion

Health & Health Care

Indigenous Resources

Legislation & Policy

LGBTQ+

Persons with Disabilities

Sexism and Gender Equality

Social Work Associatons

STAR Test

Podcasts

Websites

Children & Youth

Cultural Diversity & Inclusion

Health & Health Care

Indigenous Resources

Legislation & Policy

LGBTQ+

Persons with Disabilities

Sexism and Gender Equality

Social Work Associations