Research Guides: Open Educational Resources: Subject Specific OER

Subject Specific Resources

Textbooks

OpenRN - OER for Nursing
5 OER Nursing Textbooks with 25 associated Virtual Reality scenarios
Nursing Textbooks - BC OpenEd
Discover open textbooks that have been reviewed by faculty

Course Content

Nursing OER - open.michigan
A top-ranked nursing school with tremendous academic and clinical strengths.
OER for Nursing Education - George Washington University
Collection of interactive multimedia learning materials.
Health Case Studies - BCOpen
Each case study includes the patient narrative or story that models the best practice (at the time of publishing) in healthcare settings.

Multimedia

Anatomy & Physiology - Crash Course
high quality educational videos
BioMedical topics explained by Professor Dave
Educational videos that help you understand concepts in health sciences.
Open-i
National Library of Medicine Open Access Biomedical Image Search Engine
OPENPediatrics
We are transforming health professional education by providing open access to peer-reviewed educational content.
The Health Education Assets Library -
a collection of over 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education

Resources

Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) This link opens in a new window
A database of full-text electronic resources such as books, articles, theses and documents as well as digitized materials such as photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. focusing primarily on First Nations and Aboriginals of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.

Indigenous Education Guide
intended to assist educators to engage with complex topics related to Indigenous peoples, cultures, and histories. Here you'll find a collection of resources on a wide range of topics applicable to many subjects and programs.
Resource Library - NCCIE
This searchable database (while not exhaustive) features a diverse array of documents and on-line resources about and for Indigenous education across Canada.
Teaching Resource Centre - NCCIE
The educational resources you find here are for Indigenous and non-Indigenous educators teaching students and learners of all ages.

Courses

Indigenous Canada - UofA MOOC
From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations.
Reconciliation Through Indigenous Education - UBC MOOC
This course will help you envision how Indigenous histories, perspectives, worldviews, and approaches to learning can be made part of the work we do in classrooms, organizations, communities, and our everyday experiences in ways that are thoughtful and respectful.

Multimedia & Tools

BearPaw Media and Education
Created by a team of Indigenous researchers, writers, producers, directors and production crews, BearPaw Media Productions videos explore issues relevant to today's Indigenous communities.
National Centre for Collaboration in Indigenous Education - Videos
Keeping Our Traditions Strong

Textbooks

CABI Open Access Books
agriculture and the environment

Multimedia

Council for Agricultural Science and Technology (CAST) - Videos
CAST is your science source for food, agricultural, and environmental issues.

Open Data

Environmental Dataset Gateway
EPA's official open data catalog
Open Environmental Data Project
Rethinking The Way We Collect, Store, Verify, Share And Use Environmental Data

Novels and Other Works of Fiction

Public Domain Core Collection @ Ryerson & Brock universities
Consists of over 50 titles of public domain works that have been created using Pressbooks and made available in online, epub, pdf and editable formats.
more...less...
Adam Smith
Alexander Hamilton
Ann Radcliffe
Aphra Behn
Aristotle
Benjamin Drew
Booker T. Washington
Charlotte Brontë
Charlotte Perkins Gilman
Claude McKay
Daniel Defoe
Edgar Allan Poe
Elizabeth Gaskell
Emily Brontë
Emily Carr
F. Scott Fitzgerald
Frances Harper
Frederick Douglass
Friedrich Nietzsche
George Copway
H. G. Wells
Harriet Ann Jacobs
Henry Bibb
Herbert G. de Lisser
Homer
John Jay
John Locke
John Stuart Mill
Jonathan Swift
Joseph Conrad
Kate Chopin
Langston Hughes
Louisa May Alcott
Mary Shelley
Mary Wollstonecraft
Niccolò Machiavelli
Olaudah Equiano
Oscar Wilde
Paul Laurence Dunbar
Pauline Johnson
Plato
René Descartes
Robert Louis Stevenson
Roberto Nickel
Sophocles
Susanna Moodie
Sylvia Plath
Thomas Hobbes
Virginia Woolf
W.E.B. Du Bois
William Still
Zora Neale Hurston
Bartleby Great Books Online
best works of fiction from a wide range of classic authors.
Literature - Open Library
Open Library is an initiative of the Internet Archive
American Literature
Novels and Short Stories by Collection & Author (for High School, for Middle School, Teacher Resources)
more...less...
Short Stories for Children, 20 Great American Stories, Winter Sports Stories, American History, Idioms, Short Story of the Day

Course Content

Multimedia

Free Audiobooks - OpenCulture
mission is to centralize this content, curate it, and give you access to this high quality content whenever and wherever you want it.

Textbooks

Open Educational Resources and English as a Second Language
This collection was curated by an ASCCC OERI discipline lead. A comprehensive list of current discipline leads is available. Resources are listed in order of level, from Transfer Level English Equivalent (TLEE) to 4 levels or more below TLEE.
The resources listed on this page have been evaluated using the OER for ESL Evaluation Rubric.
ESL Textbooks- eCampusOntario
ESL Textbooks - Open Textbook Library

Course Content

Voice of America Learning English
A multimedia source of news and information for millions of English learners worldwide.
Mauril
Learn English and French through listening comprehension, using fun and engaging audio and video content from CBC and Radio Canada.

Textbooks

Political Science Textbooks - UMN open
Download, edit and distribute them at no cost.

Course Content

Poli Sci Courses - MIT Open
Political Science was formally established at MIT in 1955 as part of the Department of Economics and Social Science.
Poli Sci - Saylor Academy
Learn how to discuss the major works and figures of political thought, dive into Western and American politics, and examine the role that ethical, cultural, religious, and moral principles play in public policy. You can earn a free certificate of completion for any of these online Political Science courses, or use many of them to earn credit in leading college programs.
Poli Sci - Open Yale
Yale has been home to some of the world’s foremost political scientists and the current faculty includes diverse practitioners of all the major methodologies of political science.

Multimedia

Poli sci Videos- Ted ED
carefully curated educational videos

Inclusive Pedagogy Toolkit
Concrete suggestions for designing inclusive, antiracist learning environments through five key interconnected aspects of teaching and learning relevant to all courses.
Racial Equity Tools
It offers tools, research, tips, curricula, and ideas for people who want to increase their understanding and to help those working for racial justice at every level – in systems, organizations, communities, and the culture at large.
Fit for Online Learning
Your Handbook to Teaching Online - U of L Teaching Centre
Canadian Perspectives on Academic Integrity (Journal)
It was developed to give practitioners and researchers of academic integrity in the Canadian context a space to share experiences and expertise.

Textbooks

Health & Medical Textbooks - BC OpenEd
Discover open textbooks that have been reviewed by faculty, meet our accessibility requirements, and/or include ancillary materials (quizzes, test banks, slides, videos, etc.).
Anatomy & Physiology Textbook - openstax
Peer-reviewed. Openly licensed. 100% free.
Health Sciences Textbooks - UMN Open
Download, edit and distribute them at no cost.

Course Content

Health Case Studies - BCOpen
Each case study includes the patient narrative or story that models the best practice (at the time of publishing) in healthcare settings.
Health Courses - openmichigan
A spectrum of comprehensive knowledge, research, patient care and service of the highest quality
John Hopkins University Open Courseware
Free courses from John Hopkins University, available through Coursera.

Multimedia

Open-i
National Library of Medicine Open Access Biomedical Image Search Engine
OPENPediatrics
We are transforming health professional education by providing open access to peer-reviewed educational content.
BioMedical topics explained by Professor Dave
Educational videos that help you understand concepts in health sciences.
The Health Education Assets Library -
a collection of over 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education

Textbooks

Psychology Textbooks - BC OpenEd
Discover open textbooks that have been reviewed by faculty, meet our accessibility requirements, and/or include ancillary materials (quizzes, test banks, slides, videos, etc.).
Psychology Textbook - openstax
Peer-reviewed. Openly licensed. 100% free.
Psychology Textbooks - UMN Open
Download, edit and distribute them at no cost.

Course Content

Open University - Psychology
Content offered by Open University focusing on Psychology.
MIT OpenCourse Ware - Psychology
List of Open Courses offered by MIT related to psychology.
Psychology at Saylor Academy
Psych 101
Psychology Courses - Open SUNY
SUNY OER Ready-to-Adopt Courses - Social Sciences.

Multimedia

Psychology - Crash Course
high quality educational videos

Textbooks

Biology Textbooks - BC OpenEd
Discover open textbooks that have been reviewed by faculty, meet our accessibility requirements, and/or include ancillary materials (quizzes, test banks, slides, videos, etc.).
Biology Textbooks - UMN Open
Download, edit and distribute them at no cost.

Courses

Biology - MIT Open Courseware
Offers undergraduate, graduate, and postdoctoral training programs ranging from general biology to more specialized fields of study and research.
Biology - Saylor Academy
Explore common biological topics by studying the smallest biological units: molecules and cells. You can earn a free certificate of completion in this online Biology course, or it to earn credit in leading college programs.

Multimedia

Biology with the Amoeba Sisters
We are two sisters on a mission to demystify science with humor and relevance by creating free videos, GIFs, handouts, resources, and comics.
Professor Dave Explains Biological Sciences
My videos have just enough detail for high school and undergraduate students, but are visually engaging and general enough for the common viewer that just wants to learn a few things.
Khan Academy - Science
Khan Academy offers science practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom.
iBiology
From talks on genomics to talks with Nobel Prize winners to white-board animations.
BioInteractive
Award-winning multimedia resources, including apps, animations, videos, interactives, and virtual labs, to bring the excitement of scientific discovery into your classroom.
The Biology Project
An interactive online resource for learning biology developed at The University of Arizona.
Encyclopedia of Life
Global access to knowledge about life on Earth.

Textbooks

Physics - openstax
Peer-reviewed. Openly licensed. 100% free.
Physics Textbooks - BC OpenEd
Discover open textbooks that have been reviewed by faculty, meet our accessibility requirements, and/or include ancillary materials (quizzes, test banks, slides, videos, etc.).
Physics Textbooks - UMN Open
Download, edit and distribute them at no cost.

Course Content

MIT OpenCourse Ware - Physics
List of Open Courses offered by MIT related to physics.
Open Yale Courses - Physics
This course provides a thorough introduction to the principles and methods of physics for students who have good preparation in physics and mathematics.
Physics Courses - openmichigan
University of Michigan oers.
The Physics Classroom
The Physics Classroom is an online, free to use physics website developed primarily for beginning physics students and their teachers.

Multimedia

Khan Academy - Physics
Practice physics exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom.
ComPADRE
A network of free online resource collections supporting faculty, students, and teachers in Physics and Astronomy Education.
Open Source Physics
Curriculum resources that engage students in physics, computation, and computer modeling.
PhEt - Physics
Fun, free, interactive, research-based science and mathematics simulations.
Professor Dave Explains - Classical Physics
Educational videos that help you understand concepts in physics.

Textbooks

Sociology Textbooks- openstax
Peer-reviewed. Openly licensed. 100% free.
Sociology Textbooks - BC OpenEd
Discover open textbooks that have been reviewed by faculty, meet our accessibility requirements, and/or include ancillary materials (quizzes, test banks, slides, videos, etc.).
Sociology Textbooks - UMN open
Download, edit and distribute them at no cost.
WikiBooks - Introduction to Sociology
Open Books

Course Content

Sociology Courses - Open Yale
The standard program provides a rigorous introduction to sociological concepts, theories, and methods.
Sociology Courses - Open SUNY
SUNY OER Ready-to-Adopt Courses - Social Sciences.
Saylor Academy - Sociology
Become familiar with the scientific study of society by examining interactions and cultural phenomena like inequality and urbanization, and how these phenomena affect groups and individuals. You can earn a free certificate of completion for this online Sociology course, or use it to earn credit in leading college programs.

Multimedia

The Sociological Cinema
A resource for using video and pop culture to teach and learn sociology.

Textbooks

Math Textbooks - openstax
Peer-reviewed. Openly licensed. 100% free.
Math Textbooks - UMN Open
Download, edit and distribute them at no cost.
Math Textbooks - BC OpenEd
Discover open textbooks that have been reviewed by faculty, meet our accessibility requirements, and/or include ancillary materials (quizzes, test banks, slides, videos, etc.).

Course Content

MIT OpenCourse Ware - Mathematics
List of Open Courses offered by MIT related to math.
Math Courses - Open SUNY
SUNY OER Ready-to-Adopt Courses
Math Courses - Saylor Academy
Explore the real-world applications of mathematics through algebra, calculus, statistics, and geometry. You can earn a free certificate of completion for any of these online Mathematics courses, or use many of them to earn credit in leading college programs.
MyOpenMath
MyOpenMath runs on the open source, IMathAS platform, providing free hosted use of this platform in support of free, open textbooks like the ones listed on OpenTextBookStore.com. . Registration required.
mathcentre
Mathematics support materials, free of charge, to students, lecturers and everyone looking for post-16 maths help.

Multimedia

Virtual Math Lab
Online tutorials. They were created as a free service to anyone who needs help in these areas of math.
Khan Academy - Math
Offers practice math exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom.
GeoGebra
Dynamic mathematics software for all levels of education that brings together geometry, algebra, spreadsheets, graphing, statistics and calculus in one easy-to-use package.
PhET - Math
PhET provides fun, free, interactive, research-based science and mathematics simulations.
Professor Dave Explains - Math
Educational videos that helps you understand concepts in Math.
Math & Logic - Crash Course
high quality educational videos

Textbooks

Open and free content on JSTOR
Thousands of Open Access journals and ebooks are available from top scholarly publishers.
Literature Textbooks - UMN Open
Literature, Rhetoric, and Poetry. Download, edit and distribute them at no cost.
Academic Writing Textbooks - BC Open Ed
Discover open textbooks that have been reviewed by faculty, meet our accessibility requirements, and/or include ancillary materials (quizzes, test banks, slides, videos, etc.).
Composition - LibreTexts
Composition relates to narrative works of literature, but also relates to essays, biographies, and other works established in the field of rhetoric.
Essay Chapters - Writing Spaces
Writing Spaces: Readings on Writing is a book series containing peer-reviewed collections of essays--all composed by teachers for students--with each volume freely available for download under a Creative Commons license.

Course Content

Comparative Media Studies/Writing - MIT
Offers an innovative program that applies critical analysis, collaborative research, and design across a variety of media arts, forms, and practices.
English Courses - Saylor Academy
Communicate more effectively using the written and spoken word by going from the basic principles of grammar to crafting effective works of persuasive writing, technical writing, and essays. You can earn a free certificate of completion for any of these online English courses.
English Communication Courses - Open SUNY
SUNY OER Ready-to-Adopt Courses
JSTOR Daily Stories
An online publication that contextualizes current events with scholarship. In general, we like stories that are thought-provoking, reader-friendly, unique, and—most importantly—backed by academic integrity and peer review.

Multimedia

LibriVox
LibriVox volunteers record chapters of books in the public domain, and then we release the audio files back onto the net for free. All our audio is in the public domain, so you may use it for whatever purpose you wish.
Media Studies: Literature, Film - Crash Course
high quality educational videos

Textbooks

Early Childhood Textbooks - UMN Open
Download, edit and distribute them at no cost.

Course Content

Open University - Education & Development
Content offered by Open University focusing on Education and Development.
Early Childhood Education - Academic Earth
Free Online Lectures and Courses for Early Childhood Education

Other

Child Development Institute
Information, products and services related to child development, psychology, health, parenting, learning, media, entertainment, family activities as well as to connect with other parents, professional experts organizations and other useful websites.

Textbooks

Chemistry - openstax
Peer-reviewed. Openly licensed. 100% free.
Chemistry - BC OpenEd
Discover open textbooks that have been reviewed by faculty, meet our accessibility requirements, and/or include ancillary materials (quizzes, test banks, slides, videos, etc.).
Chemistry- UMN Open
Download, edit and distribute them at no cost.

Course Content

MIT OpenCourse Ware - Chemistry
The Department of Chemistry at MIT is one of the nation's top chemistry departments.
Chemistry - Open SUNY
SUNY OER Ready-to-Adopt Courses
Chemistry Courses - Open Michigan
University of Michigan has been a hub of chemistry research and innovations.
ChemCollective
A collection of virtual labs, scenario-based learning activities, tutorials, and concept tests.
Chemistry - Saylor Academy
Learn the basics of chemistry, including the metric system, the atom, the periodic table of the elements, bonding, molecular geometry, chemical formulas, stoichiometry, gas laws, thermochemistry, and thermodynamics. You can earn a free certificate of completion for this online Chemistry course, or use it to earn credit in leading college programs.

Multimedia

Chemistry Videos by Professor Dave Explains
5-10 min videos on Chemistry concepts
Khan Academy - Science
Khan Academy offers science practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom.
HippoCampus
Multimedia content for high-school to college subjects.

Textbooks

Business Textbooks - BC OpenEd
Discover open textbooks that have been reviewed by faculty. (Accounting, Commerce, Entrepreneurship, Management, Marketing, HR, Finance, etc...
Business Textbooks - openstax
Peer-reviewed. Openly licensed. 100% free.
Economics Textbooks- openstax
Peer-reviewed. Openly licensed. 100% free.
Business Textbooks - UMN Open
Download, edit and distribute them at no cost.

Course Content

MIT Open Courseware - Economics
List of Open Courses offered by MIT related to economics.
Business Courses - SUNY
SUNY OER Ready-to-Adopt Courses
Business Courses at Saylor Academy
Free, online Business Administration courses in small business management, entrepreneurship, marketing, finance and more.