Research Guides: Career Centre: Employment/ Career Resources

Did you know?

As a current NorQuest College student, you have access to LinkedIn Learning, an online learning platform that offers a broad range of engaging, courses taught by industry professionals. To learn more about LinkedIn Learning, follow this link.

Questions?

Interested in being referred to 'Suit Yourself' or 'Community Closet'? Questions about these clothing and personal supports?

Connect with us!

E-mail: c areercentre@norquest.ca

Employment & Career Resources

Looking for a job? Need support with career direction?

Explore the resources available at NorQuest, in Edmonton, and throughout Alberta.

Employment/ Career Resources: includes information for current students and graduates of NorQuest College. Additionally, you can find information about organizations and supports available within the greater Edmonton area and across the province. Share these resources with any friends or family members who may be looking for career and job support.
LinkedIn Resources: includes information on how you can develop your professional skills through online learning.

Current Students

From the moment you start with NorQuest College, the Career Centre offers support for students interested in exploring employment and career. Whether you're looking for work, wanting to improve your interview skills, or would like to explore career options, the Career Centre can help you through 1:1 meetings with Career Coaches. These meetings are free of charge, and can be scheduled online by simply clicking on this link.

CareerQuest Hub is a portal designed for students to access information about career and Work-Integrated Learning opportunities. Click on the link to visit the CareerQuest Hub; use your NorQuest username and password to login.

In CareerQuest Hub, students can learn about work opportunities by exploring the Student Job Board. Students can also view an Events Calendar, which includes events hosted by the Career Centre (such as our Resume Workshops and the Career Fair).

Hey, Current Students! Check out the 'Student Job Board' page to watch our video tutorials on how to browse and apply to jobs on the CareerQuest Hub.

Recent Graduates

The Career Centre will continue to support you after graduation, for up to 6 months! Please connect with the Career Centre by e-mailing us directly, or if you'd like to meet with a Career Coach, click on this link to book a 1:1 meeting.

After NorQuest: For our Alumni, please explore the wonderful list of employment and career supports/ resources in Edmonton and the greater Edmonton area to explore.

General Career Supports

Government of Alberta - Employment Services

ALIS

is an Alberta specific website that offers resources and information to help individuals navigate career and employment.
ALIS provides many self-directed resources that can help you plan and explore your career path, options for education and training, where and how to look for work, success in the workplace, and much more.
If you're not sure where to start, there is a helpful self-assessment that will direct you to the correct area of the website.

ApprenticeSearch.com

A free online job search & matching platform that focuses on apprenticeship trade positions in Canada.

BGS Career Ventures

Provides employment services, including career consulting, employment, education and career assessment, training for work, and more!

OSP (On Site Placement)

Not-for profit organization that provides employment-related services, including training programs, 1:1 appointments, and a resource library, filled with employment and professional development information

Bredin Centre for Career Advancement

The Bredin Centre for Career Advancement offers a variety of supports and resources to Albertans. Wherever you may be in your career, whether you're seeking a career change, need help choosing a career path, or are unemployed, the Bredin Centre for Career Advancement has the support and services to help guide you on your career path.

Prospect

Not-for-profit and registered charity providing zero cost employment services

CareerLeap

A program developed by Manpower, which offers support to individuals seeking to transition careers, gain work experience, in addition to one on one coaching.

Edmonton’s Food Bank – Beyond Food

Free services offered for literacy, education, employment preparation, financial and tax services, practical resources and personal supports

Africa Centre

Offers a variety of programs to support individuals, including ‘Employment & Skills Development’, Counselling, and more.

Chrysalis

Offers individual employment support for any individual over the age of 18 with a developmental disability

Wecan Cooperative

Free client support, skill development, employment counselling

Rupertsland Institute – Metis Centre of Excellence

Offers support to Metis individual preparing for, finding, and keeping employment.

Bent Arrow

Offers support to Indigenous individuals through a variety of Employment Services: Journey to Success, Transition to Success, Employment Resource Centre, and Working Warriors

Elizabeth Fry Northern Alberta

Offers services to women who have been, are at risk of, or are currently in contact with the legal system.

Career Specific Supports

Technology

Cybersecurity Training for Immigrants

A program offered by Manpower in partnership with Retrain Canada.

Business/ Entrepreneurship

Alberta Jobs Now Program

Support for private and non-profit businesses: "Employers can apply for funding to offset the cost of hiring and training Albertans in new or vacant positions."

Anderson Career Training Institute

The 'Self-Employment and Business Training' program supports Albertans who are transitioning from employment to business ownership.

RobertHalf

Recruitment and employment services that support job seekers in various fields, including: finance, accounting, administration, customer support, technology, marketing, creative, and legal.

Healthcare

Nurse Relief

A healthcare staffing agency that matches nurses to temporary or permanent roles in health care facilities. This agency provides support to those in Edmonton, St. Albert, Sherwood Park, and across Alberta.

Plan A

Long-term care staffing and recruitment agency that supports health care professionals gain work experience.

Trades

CCIS

CCIS offers a variety of employment supports to newcomers, immigrants and refugees. From the Building Maintenance Worker training program to Pre-Apprenticeship training, there are many opportunities to explore.

Trade Pathways

The Trade Pathways program includes paid work experience placements in the Carpenter, Glazier, and Roofer trades to provide the initial skills and experience required to move into trade apprenticeship.

ApprenticeSearch.com

Free virtual networking and industry events for those interested in apprenticeship, pre-apprenticeship, or current apprentices.

Greater Edmonton Area Supports

Bredin Centre for Career Advancement - Spruce Grove

Drayton Valley & District Community Learning Association

St. Albert Public Library - Career Services

Newcomer Employment/ Career Supports

Edmonton Mennonite Centre for Newcomers (EMCN)

Support for Newcomers to Canada by creating opportunities to learn the English language, create connections in Canada, find work, and be a part of a community.

ASSIST Community Services Centre

Supports newcomers to Canada with one-on-one counselling, workshops, activities, etc.
Services are offered in the following languages: Arabic, English, German, Gujarati, Hindi, Korean, Mandarin, Kakwa, Punjabi, Russian, Tagalog and Urdu

CCIS

Settlement Online Pre-Arrival program provides training to new immigrants to learn about the Canadian job search while in their home countries.

Libraries offering Employment Support and Resources:

Additional Resources

IQAS

The International Qualifications Assessment Service (IQAS) is a service offered by the Alberta government that assesses and issues certificates "that compare educational credentials from other countries to educational standards in Canada". (Government of Alberta, 2021)

Business Link

This nonprofit organizations supports people seeking to start their own business. Business Link provides one-on-one support, connection to experts, training, networking opportunities, and specialized support for Indigenous entrepreneurs.

References

Government of Alberta. (2021). IQAS assessment for employment, education or licensure.https://www.alberta.ca/iqas-employment-education-licensure.aspx

Clothing/ Personal Resources Guide

The following organizations provide opportunity to add to your professional wardrobe:

Suit Yourself

Offers new and gently-worn business attire. Students are to be referred through the Career Centre (see contact information on the left hand side). Students will schedule an appointment with Suit Yourself, where they will meet their Stylist, choose their wardrobe, and receive a toiletry bag containing toothbrush, toothpaste, deodorant, hairbrush, shampoo, body soap, lotion, etc.

Hope Bargain Shoppe

“The Hope Bargain Shoppe serves as Hope Mission’s thrift store and donations center. The Bargain Shoppe features new inventory daily at exceptional prices, with all proceeds going directly to the work of Hope Mission. Our primary goal is to find items among the donations that are useful to homeless persons.”

Mill Woods Care Closet

Offers clothing and food support, as well as small household and personal care items.

The Mustard Seed

Provides basic necessities, shelter, employment, permanent housing, health & wellness, clothing, community engagement and spiritual care supports. Visit The Mustard Seed Thrift Store in-person or shop online.

I’m Unique Thrift Store

County Clothes-Line