Research Guides: Disability Studies: Academic Sources

Your Librarian

she/they

Email Me

Subjects: Community Studies, Faculty of Arts & Science

Care Work

This collection of essays ... explores the politics and realities of disability justice, a movement that centers the lives and leadership of sick and disabled queer, trans, Black, and brown people, with knowledge and gifts for all.

Portrait of the Artist's Mother

Portrait of the Artist's Mother is a memoir and an examination of the politics of disability. This is a story of commitment to the idea that all people, including those who are 'less than perfect,' have a right to be welcomed into this increasingly imperfect world.

Inclusion, Disability and Culture

This book examines some theoretical and empirical aspects about complexities of inclusion, disability and culture.

A Teacher's Guide to Special Education

In this practical reference, David F. Bateman--bestselling author of A Principal's Guide to Special Education --and special education administrator Jenifer L. Cline clarify what general education teachers need to know about special education law and processes and provide a guide to instructional best practices for the inclusive classroom.

OneSearch

All Online only eBooks Books Videos

Advanced Search

Key Journals

This list contains a mix of open access journals and journals only available to NorQuest students through the library.

African Journal of Disability
"The African Journal of Disability, the official journal of CRS, AfriNEAD and CEDRES, introduce and discuss issues and experiences relating to and supporting the act of better understanding the interfaces between disability, poverty and practices of exclusion and marginalisation."
Canadian Journal of Disability Studies
"The Canadian Journal of Disability Studies publishes peer-reviewed original articles that advance research in the multidisciplinary, international field of disability studies."
Disability, CBR and Inclusive Development
"Disability, CBR and Inclusive Development aims to enhance knowledge in the field of disability and inclusive development, addressing the needs of practitioners in the field (particularly those from developing countries), policy makers, disabled persons’ organisations and the scientific community."
Disability and the Global South
"Disability and the Global South (DGS) is the first peer reviewed international journal committed to publishing high quality work focused exclusively on all aspects of the disability experience in the global South."
Disability Studies Quarterly
A multidisciplinary and international journal of interest to social scientists, scholars in the humanities, disability rights advocates, creative writers, and others concerned with the issues of people with disabilities.
European Journal of Adapted Physical Activity
"European Journal of Adapted Physical Activity European Journal of Adapted Physical Activity (EUJAPA) is an international, multidisciplinary journal, introduced to communicate, share and stimulate academic inquiry focusing on physical activity of persons with special needs. Articles appearing in EUJAPA reflect cross disciplinary nature of the academic discipline of adapted physical activity ranging from physical education, through sport, recreation, rehabilitation, dance, sport medicine or health care."
Exceptional Children: Journal of the International Council for Exceptional Children
Original research on the education and development of exceptional infants, toddlers, children and youth and articles on professional issues of concern to special educators made on the basis of blind peer review.
Journal of Accessibility and Design for All
"The aim of Journal of Accessibility and Design for All is to publish theoretical and empirical articles, that contrast and extend existing theories, and build new theories that contribute to the understanding of phenomena related with aspects of universal design and equal opportunities for people with disabilities."
Journal of Developmental and Physical Disabilities
Publications from a variety of fields serving multihandicaps.
Journal of Special Education and Rehabilitation
Subject matter is broad and includes, but is not restricted to, findings from biological, educational, genetic, medical, psychiatric, psychological and sociological studies, and ethical, philosophical, and legal contributions that increase knowledge on the prevention and treatment of disability, and/or inform public policy and practice.
Learning Disabilities -- A Contemporary Journal
Forum for research, practice and opinion papers in the area of learning disabilities and related disorders. Journal targets researchers and practitioners in education, special education, psychology and related fields.
Life Span and Disability
"Founded in 1998, Life Span And Disability promotes interdisciplinary research on psychological, social, educational, rehabilitative and neuropsychological aspects of the human life span."
Scandinavian Journal of Disability Research
"Scandinavian Journal of Disability Research is an international peer-reviewed journal aiming to disseminate innovative, high quality, social research on disability, which enables critical reflection on the position of people with disabilities in different societal contexts. The journal’s defining characteristic is a focus on the relationship between people with disabilities and their environments. It is multi-disciplinary in scope, incorporating research from a variety of perspectives - such as sociological, historical, cultural studies, health and social policy - which share a commitment to recognising that disability is not a property of the individual person, but something shaped by social relations and structures."
Society, Health & Vulnerability
"Society, Health & Vulnerability aims to contribute to our understanding of vulnerability and marginalization in society in light of health-related factors. The journal seeks to shed light on the varying circumstances and resources different individuals and groups face in relation to maintaining and improving health. Research on health and vulnerability over the life course or at different points in the life course is highly relevant, as is vulnerability in light of the interplay between such conditions as access to health care, health and welfare policies, disability or illness, gender, age, ethnic group, poverty and social or working conditions."

Key Databases

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window

Search Tips

This is the default of most databases and will return many results.

The database will search for results where the keywords appear in the following fields:

Title,
Author,
Subject,
Publisher,
and Notes.

Keyword searching is a good place to start, especially when looking for words or terms to use for Subject Searching, but it also requires careful review to find resources that are most appropriate for your needs.

Items are tagged with precise words before they are entered into databases (this is called controlled vocabulary).

Using Subject Search will not give a lot of results but they are likely to be accurate.

Ask a Librarian for words to use when using Subject Searching.

Combine search words to produce specific search results:

AND reduces the number of results.
- AND is useful when you want results that combine two ideas, e.g. students AND success.
OR broadens the number of results.
- OR is useful when there are multiple ways to say one thing, e.g. education OR school OR teaching OR learning.
NOT limits your results.
- NOT is useful if similar but irrelevant words keep appearing in your searches, e.g. education NOT training

Search for an exact phrase using quotation marks.

Using “student success in college” will search for those exact words in that exact order whereas not using quotes is essentially a keyword search and the database will search for those words in any order and in any combination.

Using quotes will give you less results but they will be more precise.

NorQuest College Library