Research Guides: Indigenous Education: Additional Resources

Recommended Media

When doing research on Indigenous matters, it is best practice to try and make sure to look for Indigenous voices on the topic rather than only depending on external researchers' work. Depending on your research topic and assignment, you may be using a mix of academic resources, oral teachings, podcasts, blog posts, or news articles as Indigenous voices can be found both within Western academic formats (ie journal articles) but also in other formats (oral teachings, twitter etc).

Our Stories : First Peoples in Canada
Led by a diverse team of Indigenous and non-Indigenous creators, Our Stories: First Peoples in Canada is a unique multi-media resource developed with Indigenous peoples from across Canada. Eliciting an unsettling of Western authority, this free eTextbook encourages recognition that moves beyond a colonial lens.

Teaching Each Other by Linda M. Goulet; Keith N. Goulet
Call Number: 371.82997 GOU
ISBN: 9780774827577
Publication Date: 2015-02-15
Teaching Each Other provides an alternative framework for teachers working with Indigenous students that moves beyond merely acknowledging Indigenous culture to one that actually strengthens Indigenous identity.
The Sacred Tree by Judie Bopp; Michael Bopp; Lee Brown; Phil Lane
Call Number: 299.7 SAC
ISBN: 9780941524582
Publication Date: 1992-12-03
This beautifully illustrated book presents many of the universal concepts and teachings handed down through the ages in Native societies throughout North America concerning the nature, purpose and possibilities of human existence.
Indigenizing the Academy by Devon Abbott Mihesuah (Editor); Angela Cavender Wilson (Editor); Angela Wilson (Translator)
Call Number: 378.1982997 IND
ISBN: 0803282923
Publication Date: 2004-05-01
Continuing the thought-provoking dialogue launched in the acclaimed anthology Natives and Academics: Researching and Writing about American Indians, leading Native scholars from diverse disciplines and communities offer uncompromising assessments of current scholarship on and by Indigenous peoples and the opportunities awaiting them in the Ivory Tower.
A Digital Bundle by Jennifer Wemigwans
ISBN: 9780889775510
Publication Date: 2018-10-27
An essential contribution to Internet activism and a must read for Indigenous educators, A Digital Bundle frames digital technology as an important tool for self-determination and idea sharing, ultimately contributing to Indigenous resurgence and nation building.
Recreating the world : A practical guide to building sustainable communities by Michael Bopp; Judie Bopp
ISBN: 0968823319
Publication Date: 2011
Building sustainable community is presented as a primary strategy for solving critical human problems. It is a basic human need, and in its absence, human life becomes distorted, painful, and often self-destructive.

Aboriginal Policy Studies
An online, peer-reviewed, and multidisciplinary journal that publishes original, scholarly, and policy relevant research on issues relevant to Métis, non-status Indians and urban Aboriginal peoples in Canada
Canadian Journal of Native Studies
Brandon University's Department of Native Studies launched the CJNS, which was the first Native Studies journal in Canada and is now the premier international journal of Native Studies in the world. The CJNS is also the only Native Studies journal in the world which is available in full text online.
First Peoples Child & Family Review
Open access journal dedicated to interdisciplinary research honouring the voices, perspectives and knowledges of First Peoples through research, critical analyses, stories, standpoints and media reviews.
in education
This open access journal publishes scholarly articles and reviews of works that explore ideas in teacher education, as well as broader and more inclusive discussions in education. Extensive coverage of Indigenous topics in education.
Journal of American Indian Education
The Journal of American Indian Education (JAIE) is a professional journal that publishes papers directly related to the education of American Indian/Alaska Natives.
Native Studies Review
The Native Studies Review began publication in 1984 as a refereed bi-annual journal by the Native Studies Department of the University of Saskatchewan.
Wicazo Sa Review
Founded in 1985, Wicazo Sa Review aims to become an interdisciplinary instrument to assist indigenous peoples of the Americas in taking possession of their own intellectual and creative pursuits.

Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) This link opens in a new window
A database of full-text electronic resources such as books, articles, theses and documents as well as digitized materials such as photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. focusing primarily on First Nations and Aboriginals of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
Ideal for researching the contributions, struggles and issues surrounding Indigenous peoples in North America.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window
An authoritative database of education literature and resources, considered an essential tool for education researchers of all kinds.
Frontier Life This link opens in a new window
Examines settlement, existence and interactions at the edge of the Anglophone world from 1650-1920 with digitised primary source documents cover the frontiers of North America, Africa and Australasia.

Unreserved
Unreserved is the radio space for Indigenous community, culture, and conversation. Host Rosanna Deerchild takes you straight into Indigenous Canada, from Halifax to Haida Gwaii, from Shamattawa to Ottawa, introducing listeners to the storytellers, culture makers and community shakers from across the country.
Media Indigena
Hosted by Rick Harp, Media Indigena is a weekly Indigenous current affairs podcast. Guest speakers regularly include Indigenous faculty from universities across Canada. The website also features Aboriginal news, views and creative expression.
Métis in Space
The podcast where your hosts, Molly and Chelsea, drink a bottle of (red) wine and, from a tipsy, decolonial perspective, review a sci-fi movie or television episode featuring Indigenous peoples, tropes and themes.
New Fire
From remote reserves to bustling big cities, join Urban Native Girl Lisa Charleyboy as she brings you to the surprising heart of the conversations important to Indigenous youth today.
All My Relations
On each episode hosts Matika Wilbur (Tulalip and Swinomish) and Adrienne Keene (Cherokee Nation), delve into a different topic facing Native peoples today, bringing in guests from all over Indian Country to offer perspectives and stories.
Telling Our Twisted Histories
Words connect us. Words hurt us. Indigenous histories have been twisted by centuries of colonization. Host Kaniehti:io Horn brings us together to decolonize our minds– one word, one concept, one story at a time.
Think Indigenous
Think Indigenous is a podcast that highlights its yearly conference keynotes & "Red Talk" presentations sharing best practices, innovation and delivery models of Indigenous education.

NorQuest Library provides access to online streaming video content through a number of databases containing a wide variety of documentary and feature films.

Learn how to connect to online video library resources

Indigenous Cinema | National Film Board
Explore NFB films by Indigenous filmmakers.
The Aboriginal Voice: The National Film Board and Aboriginal Filmmaking Through the Years
A playlist selection by Gil Cardinal
more...less...
The Ballad of Crowfoot
You Are on Indian Land
The Other Side of the Ledger: An Indian View of the Hudson’s Bay Company
Circle of the Sun
Foster Child
Totem: the Return of the G’psgolox Pole
Is the Crown at war with us?
Indigenous Videos | CanCore
Recently added Indigenous Content with a Canadian focus.
5 Must See Sci-Fi Films From Indigenous Filmmakers
Indigenous-Made science fiction films recommended by A Tribe Called Geek.
APTN
A window into the remarkably diverse worlds of Indigenous Peoples in Canada and throughout the world.
BearPaw Media and Education
Created by a team of Indigenous researchers, writers, producers, directors and production crews, BearPaw Media Productions videos explore issues relevant to today's Indigenous communities.

Windspeaker
AMMSA is dedicated to providing objective, mature and balanced coverage of news, information and entertainment relevant to Indigenous issues and peoples while maintaining profound respect for the values, principles and traditions of Indigenous peoples.
89.3 The Raven
The Raven features Indigenous musical artists, Indigenous language programming—Cree, Dene, Nakoda Sioux, Blackfoot and Michif—news and events, as well as Indigenous culture.
New Tribe
USAY focuses on providing stories, artwork, fiction, poetry and journalism to showcase the strength and vibrancy of Indigenous youth.
APTN News
Official account for APTN National News - Our stories told our way.

NorQuest College Library

NorQuest College Library

Indigenous Education

Publishers & Distributors

Recommended Media

Learn how to connect to online video library resources