Skip to main content

Linking to Library Resources

How to link to library resources such as databases, ebooks, articles or online video

How to Link to Online Videos

The Library acquires online videos from a number of different vendors.  Each vendor has a different license agreement, some which require us to link to them through our library catalogue.

The library adds records to the NEOS catalogue for our online videos, but when a new video or collection of videos is acquired it may be some time before it is available in the catalogue.

NOTE: The library no longer uses IRIS Education to host streaming videos. Our new vendor for hosting videos is McIntyre Media.

How to Link to Criterion-on-Demand Videos

Criterion-on-Demand is a collection of online feature films from studios including 20th Century Fox, Paramount, Miramax, Dreamworks, Warner Bros. and Lionsgate. Microsoft Silverlight is required to view the films. Not available on tablets. Download the User guide (pdf) for more info. 

To link to a Criterion-on-Demand title:

  1.  Do a search for the title you wish to link to in Criterion-on-Demand.
  2. Copy the url from the address bar of the browser and paste it into Wordpad or Notepad
  3. Remove the /htbin/wwform/ section from the link and replace it with /display/
  4. Copy the library off-campus authentication prefix link  http://auth01.norquest.ca/login?url=
  5. Paste the prefix link in front of the persistent link and copy the whole new link into your course or webpage.

   example of original browser link:

http://media2.criterionpic.com/htbin/wwform/006?T=W90929

   example of a completed link:

http://auth01.norquest.ca/login?url=http://media2.criterionpic.com/display/006?t=W90929

 

How to Link to Films on Demand Videos

The Library subscribes to the Films on Demand Master Academic Collection. 

To link to a Films on Demand title:

  1. Access the Films on Demand Master Academic Collection on the Audio & Video page located under the Find tab on the Library website.
  2. Browse or Search for the title you wish to link.
  3. On the video page for the title, scroll to the bottom of the video and click on the button labeled "Link". 
  4. Copy the "Record url" (it will include the off-campus authentication prefix) link and paste it into your course or webpage.

   example of a completed link:

http://auth01.norquest.ca/login?url=http://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=152901&xtid=39508

To link to a Films on Demand Subject Collection:

  1. Access the Films on Demand Master Academic Collection on the Audio & Video page located under the Find tab on the Library website.
  2. Browse the Subject index from drop down menu located on the top left corner of the page.
  3. Select the subject from the Full Subject Index.
  4. Click on Page Link and copy the url (it will include the off-campus authentication prefix) and paste it into your course or webpage.
  5. To find a series, choose Advanced Search option and type the series title into the Keyword box. 
  6. On the page for the collection or series, click on the Page Link located directly under the page title.
  7. Copy the url (it will include the off-campus authentication prefix) and paste it into your course or webpage.

examples of a completed links:

For a collection:  http://auth01.norquest.ca/login?url=http://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?bc=0&st=adv&rd=title&sid=747&gID=752&sortby=Relevance&type=browse&level=Group&wID=152901

For a series:  http://auth01.norquest.ca/login?url=http://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?seriesID=16268&wID=152901

See also information on embedding Films on Demand titles in Moodle

See also information on creating playlists

Note: If you are using the embed code from the "Link" box to embed a video on a website other than Moodle, you need to edit the url for the off-campus prefix in the embed code to change it from http:// to https:// at the beginning of the url.

How to Link to McIntyre Hosted Videos

The Library licenses streaming videos from various vendors which we host with McIntyre Media. You can see the list of the McIntyre videos available in the NEOS catalogue using this link http://neos.library.ualberta.ca/uhtbin/cgisirsi/x/0/0/57/5?user_id=WNORQ_MAIN&searchdata1=mcintyre{}&searchoper1=AND&library=NORQ_MAIN&item_1cat=E-VIDEO

To link to a McIntyre Media title:

  1. Find the title from the catalogue search above.
  2. Click on the title for the video in the result list.
  3. Click on the NorQuest College Access link.
  4. When the McIntyre page for the video opens, copy the Unique Url link from the box below the video.
  5. Paste the link into your moodle course.

Example url:

http://auth01.norquest.ca/login?url=https://stream.mcintyre.ca/norquest/title/15310

How to Link to Mosby's Nursing Video Skills

Mosby's Nursing Video Skills is hosted on our college server.  You can link directly to these resources by copying the links below:

Mosby's nursing video skills. Basic skills 

http://auth01.norquest.ca/login?url=http://media.norquest.ca/library/media/NursingSkills4/Basic/index.html

Mosby's nursing video skills. Intermediate skills

http://auth01.norquest.ca/login?url=http://media.norquest.ca/library/media/NursingSkills4/Intermediate/index.html

Mosby's nursing video skills. Advanced skills 

http://auth01.norquest.ca/login?url=http://media.norquest.ca/library/media/NursingSkills4/Advanced/index.html

The Off-campus authentication prefix is included in these links.

How to Link to NFB Campus Videos

To link to a NFB Campus title:

  1. Access National Film Board Campus on the Audio & Video page located under the Find tab on the Library website.
  2. Browse or Search for the title you wish to link.
  3. Copy the link from the browser address bar and paste it into Wordpad or Notepad
  4. Copy the library off-campus authentication prefix link  http://auth01.norquest.ca/login?url=
  5. Paste the prefix link in front of the persistent link and copy the whole new link into your course or webpage.
   example of original browser link:

https://www.nfb.ca/film/abegweit_en/

   example of a completed link:

http://auth01.norquest.ca/login?url=https://www.nfb.ca/film/abegweit_en/

These additional resources are available for Faculty by creating an account with NFB Campus:

• A curated library of Learning Bundles
• Tools to create and share your own chapters and playlists
• Educational summaries that draw links to Pan-Canadian curricula
• In-depth Educator’s guides
• Search filters by subject area and age level

Contact the library for a link to create an account.

How to Link to NorQuest Developed Videos