Research Guides: Indigenous Studies: Resources

Films

Beans

Based on true events, Tracey Deer's debut feature chronicles the 78-day standoff between two Mohawk communities and government forces in 1990 in Quebec.

When Maika and her ragtag friends discover an alien invasion in their tiny arctic hamlet, it's up to them to save the day. Utilizing their makeshift weapons and horror movie knowledge, the aliens realize you don't mess with girls from Pang.

Unusual in Every Way

An unusual tale of struggle, friendship, hope and inspiration. An indigenous man with autism and disabilities meets a renowned professor from Israel. Their unique friendship is an inspiration for a struggling man and for a people.

Wildhood

A rebellious two-spirit teenager runs away from home to find his birth mother and reclaim his Mi'kmaw heritage.

Red Snow

Red Snow is a dramatic adventure that begins when Dylan, a Gwich'in soldier from the Canadian Arctic, is caught in an ambush in Panjwayi, Afghanistan.

Night Raiders

A mother joins an underground band of vigilantes to try to rescue her daughter from a state-run institution.

Blood Quantum

Jeff Barnaby's sophomore feature, which grimly depicts an apocalyptic scenario where in an isolated Mi gmaq community discover they are the only humans immune to a zombie plague.

Decolonizing Education: Nourishing the Learning Spirit

Marie Battiste documents the nature of Eurocentric models of education, and their devastating impacts on Indigenous knowledge.

The Unjust Society

Cardinal summed up the government's approach as "The only good Indian is a non-Indian". He called for radical changes in policy on aboriginal rights, education, social programs, and economic development.

Decolonizing Methodologies

To the colonized, the term 'research' is conflated with European colonialism.

Life Stages and Native Women

Kim Anderson shares the teachings of fourteen elders from the Canadian prairies and Ontario to illustrate how different life stages were experienced by Metis, Cree, and Anishinaabe girls and women during the mid-twentieth century.

Indigenous Voice in Social Media

Citing Oral Teachings

Citing Oral teachings from Indigenous Elders or Knowledge Keepers

NorQuest Library has noted that the formal APA style does not have a format for Indigenous Elders and Knowledge Keepers so we have developed this citation style in the spirit of wahkôhtowin and reconciliation.

APA style:
In-Text citation
Reference Citation

MLA Style:
In-Text citation
Reference Citation

Indigenous Voices

When doing research on Indigenous matters, it is best practice to try and make sure to look for Indigenous voices on the topic rather than only depending on external researchers' work. Depending on your research topic and assignment, you may be using a mix of academic resources, oral teachings, podcasts, blog posts, or news articles as Indigenous voices can be found both within Western academic formats (ie journal articles) but also in other formats (oral teachings, twitter etc).

Indigenous Literature

We have a wide variety of material on Indigenous authors and literature.

Recommended Media

Books, Journals, Podcasts, and Films by and about Indigenous voices.

Critical Literacy

Questions to ask while researching and evaluating information about Indigenous communities.

Culture

Learn about Indigenous artistic expressions, oral-based knowledge systems, Totem poles, and cedar.

Indigenous Artists and Exhibitions

Bill Reid Gallery Artists
An emphasis on Indigenous art and culture in the Northwest Coast.
The Indigenous Collection
Indigenous art at the AGO currently includes works from the First Peoples of North America, namely First Nations, Inuit, and Metis. The collection also includes global Indigenous Art from Africa, Australia, and the Torres Strait Islands.
Indigenous Art Centre Gallery at CIRNAC
The Indigenous Art Centre was created in 1965 to support the creation, preservation and promotion of contemporary Canadian Indigenous art.
Indigenous Arts Collective of Canada
In taking inspiration from the Haudenosaunee Seventh Generation Principle, the Indigenous Arts Collective of Canada was founded in 2012 to preserve and revitalize endangered Indigenous art forms and enrich lives through Indigenous arts and culture.
Wakina Gallery Edmonton
In a move to promote reconciliation and Indigenous awareness Alberta Native News newspaper has partnered with Wakina Gallery to make available original Indigenous art.

Ecology and Environment

We have a wide variety of material on Indigenous ecology and environmental science.

Environmental Protection

Books, Journals, and Films about Indigenous land and water rights.

Environmental Education

Books, journals and films about Indigenous land-based learning and traditional knowledge.

Science and Technology Films

Search the science & math and the technology & trades subjects for Indigenous content.

Environmental Education and Activism

Indigenous Environmental Network
formed by grassroots Indigenous peoples and individuals to address environmental and economic justice issues (EJ). IEN’s activities include building the capacity of Indigenous communities and tribal governments to develop mechanisms to protect our sacred sites, land, water, air, natural resources, health of both our people and all living things, and to build economically sustainable communities.
Sacred Places Institute for Indigenous Peoples
We collaborate with Native Nations and Indigenous Peoples working at the front lines of environmental, cultural, and social justice in California, around the country and throughout the world.
Indigenous Educators in Science
Read about how by meshing laboratory science with Traditional Ecological Knowledge, college professors aim to cultivate better environmental decision makers — and decisions.
Center for Native Peoples and the Environment
The mission of the SUNY-ESF Center for Native Peoples and the Environment is to create programs that draw on the wisdom of both indigenous and scientific knowledge in support of our shared goals of environmental sustainability.
Environmental & Sustainability Education In Teacher Education
A Canadian network with a comprehensive list of links to Indigenous environmental & sustainability education resources.
Raven Trust
RAVEN raises legal defence funds to assist Indigenous Peoples who enforce their rights and title to protect their traditional territories.

National Centre for Collaboration in Indigenous Education

Connecting communities with each other to share their stories about Indigenous education across Canada and around the world.

Indigenous Pedagogy

Books, Journals, and Films about Indigenous education and culturally relevant pedagogy.

First Nations University of Canada

A First Nations owned post-secondary institution that bridges our ceremonies, knowledge keepers, languages, and traditions with the delivery of high-quality education.

Reconciliation Education

These online courses and films provide a comprehensive, customized anti-racist education in line with the Truth and Reconciliation Commission's 94 Calls to Action.

Indigenous Education

Journal of Indigenous Early Childhood Education
Of interest to early childhood educators, policy-makers, and other stake-holders in regard to early childhood issues on Tribal Nations across the United States and Indigenous Cultures across the globe.
Learning through the Circle of Courage
First People's principles of learning
Indigenous Education Guide
to assist educators to engage with complex topics related to Indigenous peoples, cultures, and histories.

NCTR

The permanent home for all statements, documents, and other materials gathered by the TRC.

Edmonton 2 Spirit Society

To re-establish and enhance our traditional roles and responsibilities as Two Spirit people in Indigenous communities.

Legacy of Hope

The Legacy of Hope Foundation (LHF) is a national, Indigenous-led, charitable organization that has been working to promote healing and Reconciliation in Canada.

Why Indigenous Literatures Matter

It’s about the many kinds of stories Indigenous peoples tell, and the stories others tell about us. A Year of #HonouringIndigenousWriters

TREATY TALK Sharing the River of Life
A teaching tool to better understand our collective responsibility to treaty.

Residential Schools

Pope Francis apologizes to Indigenous delegation for residential school abuse in Canada
Video in Vatican City
Archbishop of Canterbury's apology
in Prince Albert, Saskatchewan
Reconciliation in Rome - APTN
Learn more
Residential School System
Indian Residential School Apology - Canadian government

Treaties

Two Different Views on Treaties
Treaties, agreements and negotiations
Treaties and Aboriginal Rights in Canada
Asch retells the story of Canada with a focus on the relationship between First Nations and settlers.
BearPaw Media and Education
Free multimedia resources about the law for Indigenous People, made by Indigenous People, in Alberta.

Try these Search terms:

	Indians of North America	Aboriginal Canada	Native Americans
	Indigenous	First Nations	Cultures (Cree / Kainai /)

Featured Databases:

Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window
Ideal for researching the contributions, struggles and issues surrounding Indigenous peoples in North America.
Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) This link opens in a new window
A database of full-text electronic resources such as books, articles, theses and documents as well as digitized materials such as photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. focusing primarily on First Nations and Aboriginals of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.

First Nations Drum Newspaper
Canada’s largest Aboriginal newspaper, designed to inform and entertain readers while strengthening understanding between the Native and non-Native residents, the First Nations Drum deals exclusively with news and information relevant to Native communities and lifestyles.

OneSearch

All Online only eBooks Books Videos

Advanced Search