This is the default of most databases and will return many results.
The database will search for results where the keywords appear in the following fields:
Keyword searching is a good place to start, especially when looking for words or terms to use for Subject Searching, but it also requires careful review to find resources that are most appropriate for your needs.
Items are tagged with precise words before they are entered into databases (this is called controlled vocabulary).
Using Subject Search will not give a lot of results but they are likely to be accurate.
Ask a Librarian for words to use when using Subject Searching.
Combine search words to produce specific search results:
Search for an exact phrase using quotation marks.
Using “student success in college” will search for those exact words in that exact order whereas not using quotes is essentially a keyword search and the database will search for those words in any order and in any combination.
Using quotes will give you less results but they will be more precise.
When your instructors tell you to use journals, they don’t mean the Edmonton Journal. A journal is basically a magazine that is published by a professional group, such as The Journal of the American Medical Association or The Canadian Journal of Nursing Research.
The articles in journals are based on research. If you were ill in the hospital, would you want nurses and doctors taking care of you that learned their profession from journals? or from magazines such as Chatelaine, and/or any websites?[hide answer]
There are some excellent websites with good, current, reliable information. But there are many more websites that do not have good, current, reliable information. Anybody can put anything on the World Wide Web.
Before articles are published in journals, they are reviewed for credibility. The author of an article will have credentials that can be checked by the publisher. Do you know the credentials of the people who publish most websites?
Websites from some government departments or agencies and from professional associations are usually considered reliable.[hide answer]
These days most journals are published both in print and online. Libraries pay a subscription for their users to access online journals through databases. You can then search these databases by going to the library website.[hide answer]
A library database is basically a collection of online journals and e-books and sometimes online videos. Some databases cover general subject matter; some are very specific to a particular field of study.[hide answer]