Skip to Main Content

Settlement Studies

A guide to information resources for Settlement Studies students at NorQuest College

Your Librarian

Profile Photo
Sarah Bailey
she/her/hers

Book an Appointment with a Librarian

The Criminalization of Migration

Maps how the predominant trend toward the criminalization of migration in Canada and abroad can be reversed for the benefit of all, especially those forced to migrate for the protection of their inherent human rights and dignity.

SocINDEX with Full Text

A robust sociology research database. Provides full-text, peer-reviewed sociology journals covering many studies including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work.

A Space for Race

This book explores the impact of unquestioned racial assumptions in the Canadian narrative that have constructed an insider/outsider culture. 

Journal of Comparative Migration Studies

Comparative Migration Studies (CMS) is an international, peer-reviewed open access journal that provides a platform for articles that focus on comparative research in migration, integration, and race and ethnic relations.

DesLibris Documents Collection

Canadian books and public policy documents. Includes research papers, reports, studies, policy papers & briefs, discussion papers, working papers, evidence reviews, economic evaluations and environmental scans.

OneSearch

  

Key Scholarly Journals in Settlement Studies

Migration Studies

Community Work

Intercultural Studies

Search Tips

This is the default of most databases and will return many results. 

The database will search for results where the keywords appear in the following fields:

  • Title,
  • Author,
  • Subject,
  • Publisher,
  • and Notes.

Keyword searching is a good place to start, especially when looking for words or terms to use for Subject Searching, but it also requires careful review to find resources that are most appropriate for your needs.

Items are tagged with precise words before they are entered into databases (this is called controlled vocabulary).

Using Subject Search will not give a lot of results but they are likely to be accurate.

Ask a Librarian for words to use when using Subject Searching.

Combine search words to produce specific search results:

  • AND reduces the number of results.
    • AND is useful when you want results that combine two ideas, e.g. students AND success.
  • OR broadens the number of results.
    • OR is useful when there are multiple ways to say one thing, e.g. education OR school OR teaching OR learning.
  • NOT limits your results.
    • NOT is useful if similar but irrelevant words keep appearing in your searches, e.g. education NOT training

Search for an exact phrase using quotation marks.

Using “student success in college” will search for those exact words in that exact order whereas not using quotes is essentially a keyword search and the database will search for those words in any order and in any combination.

Using quotes will give you less results but they will be more precise.

​Database and Journal FAQs

  1. What is a journal? [Answer]
     
  2. Why should I use journals instead of websites? [Answer]
     
  3. Where do I find journals? [Answer]
     
  4. What is a library database? [Answer]
     
  5. How can I find journal articles on my topic? [Answer]
     
  6. What does ‘peer-reviewed’ mean? [Answer]
     
  7. What does ‘evidence-based’ mean? [Answer]
     
  8. Are there good sources of information other than journal articles? [Answer]
     
Creative Commons LicenseThis work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License. Details and Exceptions.