Skip to Main Content

Settlement Studies

A guide to information resources for Settlement Studies students at NorQuest College

Need more help? View our interactive citation tutorials.

Lookup a journal article by DOI or PMID

The Criminalization of Migration

Maps how the predominant trend toward the criminalization of migration in Canada and abroad can be reversed for the benefit of all, especially those forced to migrate for the protection of their inherent human rights and dignity.

SocINDEX with Full Text

A robust sociology research database. Provides full-text, peer-reviewed sociology journals covering many studies including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work.

A Space for Race

This book explores the impact of unquestioned racial assumptions in the Canadian narrative that have constructed an insider/outsider culture. 

Journal of Comparative Migration Studies

Comparative Migration Studies (CMS) is an international, peer-reviewed open access journal that provides a platform for articles that focus on comparative research in migration, integration, and race and ethnic relations.

DesLibris Documents Collection

Canadian books and public policy documents. Includes research papers, reports, studies, policy papers & briefs, discussion papers, working papers, evidence reviews, economic evaluations and environmental scans.

These tools can help you document and format your references.

*Be sure to check generated citations for accuracy!

Research

Write

Cite

Paraphrasing, Summary, and Analysis

running start

  • Read your assignment carefully to understand the requirements
  • Highlight the topic guidelines given, required length, and types of information sources allowed
  • Check out FIRST STEPS in the Learn to Research Guide
  • Remember, at any time during the research process you are welcome to ask for help!  Please visit the library desk with your questions, or click on the HELP tab to contact us online.

concept map

  • Remember that your paper must answer the research question that you ask.mapping
  • Examine your topic in detail, ask yourself "who?" "what?" "where?" "when?" "why?"
  • Is your question too broad, too narrow, or just right?
  • Learn the steps for turning your topic into a research question by visiting QUESTION in the Learn to Research Guide

searching using computer

checklist

  • Once you have gathered sources of information, it's important to evaluate their quality.
  • Is the information you want to use credible? Is it relevant to your assignment?
  • Check out USE in the Learn to Research guide

Key Scholarly Journals in Settlement Studies

Migration Studies

Community Work

Intercultural Studies

 

 If you want to check your writing for errors, keep these tips in mind:

Plan ahead

  • Plan to spend about 20% of your time revising and 20% of your time proofreading.

Print it out

  • Having a written copy of your writing is easier to read through, and you can keep track of your revisions.

Rest your eyes

  • Take a break from your writing for at least 30 minutes. Looking at your writing with "fresh eyes" can help you relax and catch more of your own errors.

Read more than once

  • Read through your paper several times, focusing on only a few issues at a time. You will be more thorough and will catch more errors than if you tried to check everything at once.

  • If you know that you struggle with something—paragraph transitions, for example—read through your paper once paying attention to only that issue.

Relax

  • Remember that making changes in your paper is a totally normal part of the writing process.

  • No one writes a perfect first draft!

Search Tips:

This is the default of most databases and will return many results. 

The database will search for results where the keywords appear in the following fields:

  • Title,
  • Author,
  • Subject,
  • Publisher,
  • and Notes.

Keyword searching is a good place to start, especially when looking for words or terms to use for Subject Searching, but it also requires careful review to find resources that are most appropriate for your needs.

Items are tagged with precise words before they are entered into databases (this is called controlled vocabulary).

Using Subject Search will not give a lot of results but they are likely to be accurate.

Ask a Librarian for words to use when using Subject Searching.

Combine search words to produce specific search results:

  • AND reduces the number of results.
    • AND is useful when you want results that combine two ideas, e.g. students AND success.
  • OR broadens the number of results.
    • OR is useful when there are multiple ways to say one thing, e.g. education OR school OR teaching OR learning.
  • NOT limits your results.
    • NOT is useful if similar but irrelevant words keep appearing in your searches, e.g. education NOT training

Search for an exact phrase using quotation marks.

Using “student success in college” will search for those exact words in that exact order whereas not using quotes is essentially a keyword search and the database will search for those words in any order and in any combination.

Using quotes will give you less results but they will be more precise.

Avoiding Plagiarism

The best way to avoid plagiarism is to cite your sources in the body of your work and in your bibliography or reference list. Avoid plagiarism by:

  • learning how to document and cite your sources properly.
  • handing in your own work.
  • paraphrasing, or putting the ideas of others into your own words and using a citation.
  • using quotation marks and an in-text citation when you copy the words of someone else.
  • always giving credit to sources you use in your research.

Learn more about avoiding plagiarism:

Revision and Proofreading Step-by-Step

Check the content of your writing

Did I follow the assignment instructions?

Are all of my claims accurate?

Do I have a clear argument?

Check the structure of your writing

Are my introduction and conclusion clear and appropriate for my assignment?

Do I have a clear, defendable, and relevant thesis statement?

Are my sections in a logical order?

Check your paragraph structure

Are my paragraphs in a logical order?

Does each paragraph relate to my thesis statement?

Does each paragraph have a topic sentence?

Do I use transitions effectively to create a sense of flow?

Check the clarity and style of your writing

Have I used an appropriate tone?

Have I used gender-neutral language?

Have I avoided passive voice?

Do I have any unnecessary or repetitive phrases?

Have I used any technical or unusual terms I should define for my reader?

Do my word choices make sense?

Check your citations

Have I cited all of the sources I used?

Are my paraphrases and summaries in my own words and not copied from the author?

Have I provided correct in-text citations in APA or MLA style every time I use another person's ideas or words?

Is my Reference or Works Cited page formatted properly?

Proofread your writing for grammar, spelling, and punctuation errors

Do I have the proper prepositions for my verbs?

Have I used "a," "an," and "the" correctly?

Do my subjects and verbs agree?

Is it clear what each pronoun refers to?

Do I have parallel structure in my sentences?

Are all of my verbs in the appropriate tense?

Do all of my sentences have a subject and a verb?

Do any of my sentences contain more than one independent clause?

Have I used punctuation correctly?

 

Many people find that when they read their own writing, they miss their errors. Read and Write is a program that can help you spot your own errors and develop your writing skills at the same time.

Read and Write can read your writing aloud to you, which helps many people find errors in their writing. It can also help you identify correctly spelled but misused words and help you develop a vocabulary list, among other things.

The best part is that all computers on NorQuest College's downtown Edmonton campus have Read & Write installed, and all NorQuest students can get a copy to use on their own computer for free!

If you'd like more information, or would like to access your free copy of Read & Write, log in to misiwe pehtâkwan for instructions!

Other Online and Desktop Grammar Checkers

Hemingway makes your writing bold and clear. It's like a spellchecker, but for style. It makes sure that your reader will focus on your message, not your prose. There is an online-only version and a paid version for your personal computer.

ProWriting Aid includes a grammar checker but also goes way beyond grammar checking to help you improve the style and clarity of your writing. The editing tool analyzes your text and highlights a variety of key writing issues, such as overused words, sentence structure, punctuation issues, repeated phrases, consistency, dialogue, pacing and readability. It helps you learn as you edit, making you a stronger writer.

WhiteSmoke is a paid software suite for your personal computer. It will check your papers for grammar, spelling, style, and punctuation. Additionally, it includes templates (email and document), an internal translator, and English writing tutorials. This software comes with either a yearly or 3 year subscription and works on a wide variety of platforms and programs.

Slick Write is a free online-only application that makes it easy to check your writing for grammar errors, potential stylistic mistakes, and other features of interest.

Ginger Software Grammar Check will help you correct common mistakes in your paper such as subject-verb agreement, use of singular and plural nouns, misused words, and spelling.  Type in a sentence, click "Ginger it!" and see what recommended changes come up.  Also available as a Google Chrome extension.

1Checker is an ideal writing enhancement tool set with spelling check, grammar check, style review, vocabulary enrichment, dictionary, translation and more this-is-exactly-what-I-want benefits are all packed in one. Powered by Artificial Intelligence (AI) and Natural Language Processing (NLP) technologies, 1Checker helps you write better English.

Creative Commons LicenseThis work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License. Details and Exceptions.