{{guide_search}}

Skip to Main Content

Reserve Books and Reading

Find out which materials are required for your classes by checking Moodle or asking your instructor

Health & Community Studies

Search this page for textbooks used in the following programs:

Addictions Recovery Practitioner
Disability Studies
Health Administration & Technology

Mental Health Recovery Practitioner
Practical Nursing

Find your books on this page by looking for the course codes.

Don't know your course codes? Check your Moodle
Don't see your course code listed? Check your course outline or syllabus

ADVO / ANPH

Book Cover	Course Code	Course Name	Course Textbooks at the Library
	ADVO 1004	Orthopaedic Pathology & Nursing Intervention	Simon's Emergency Orthopedics, 8th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk
	ADVO 1101	Foundations of Anatomy & Physiology	The Concise Book of Muscles, 4th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Also available as an eBook (1 user)
	ANPH 1000	Introduction to Anatomy & Physiology	Understanding Anatomy and Physiology: A Visual, Auditory, Interactive Approach, 3rd Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Available as an eBook (unlimited users)
	ANPH 1001	Anatomy & Physiology I	Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology, 4th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, 11th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk SUGGESTED & NOT ON RESERVE: Anatomy and Physiology Colouring Workbook: A Complete Study Guide, 12th Edition 3-week loan
	ANPH 1002	Anatomy & Physiology II	Fundamentals of Anatomy and Physiology, 4th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, 11th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk SUGGESTED & NOT ON RESERVE: Anatomy and Physiology Colouring Workbook: A Complete Study Guide, 12th Edition 3-week loan
	ANPH 1003	Introduction to Anatomy & Physiology for MDRT	Medical Device Reprocessing Manual, 4th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Medical Device Reprocessing Workbook, 4th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk
	ANPH 1004	Functional Anatomy	Clinical Kinesiology and Anatomy, 7th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk

Book Cover	Course Code	Course Name	Course Textbooks at the Library
	COMM 1001	Introduction to Communications	Introduction to Communications Print copy available at the Library Help Desk Available as an eBook (unlimited users) Look: Looking Out, Looking In, 4th Canadian Edition Print copy available at the Library Help Desk Also available as an eBook (1 user)

DISB

Book Cover	Course Code	Course Name	Course Textbooks at the Library
	DISB 2006	Planning Responsive Environments	Building Community Practice: Practical Ways to Build Inclusive Communities for People Who are Vulnerable Available at the Library Help Desk Implementing Person-Centered Planning: Voices of Experience Available at the Library Help Desk

HEAS / HLTH

Book Cover	Course Code	Course Name	Course Textbooks at the Library
	HEAS 1000	Health Assessment	Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, 11th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Jarvis Physical Examination and Health Assessment Textbook, 4th Canadian Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Jarvis Physical Examination and Health Assessment Laboratory Manual, 4th Canadian Edition Available at the Library Help Desk SUGGESTED: Jarvis Pocket Companion for Physical Examination and Health Assessment, 4th Canadian Edition Available at the Library Help Desk
	HLTH 1003	Medical Terminology I	The Language of Medical Terminology I Print copy available at the Library Help Desk Available as an eBook (unlimited users)
	HLTH 1004	Medical Terminology II	The Language of Medical Terminology II: An Introduction to Pharmacology Print copy available at the Library Help Desk Available as an eBook (unlimited users)
	HLTH 1013	Veterinary Terminology & Animal Health Systems	An Illustrated Guide to Veterinary Medical Terminology, 4th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk
	HLTH 1031	Health Care Aid Roles & Responsibilities	Sorrentino's Canadian Textbook for the Support Worker, 5th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Accompanying workbook available at the Library Help Desk
	HLTH1101	Surgical Instrument Processing II	Medical Device Reprocessing Manual, 4th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Medical Device Reprocessing Workbook, 4th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk
	HLTH 1103	Surgical Instrument Processing I

NCOM / NFDN / NPRT

Book Cover	Course Code	Course Name	Course Textbooks at the Library
	NCOM 1000	Communications for Nursing	Arnold & Boggs's Interpersonal Relationships: Professional Communication Skills for Canadian Nurses Available at the Library Help Desk Canadian Fundamentals of Nursing, 7th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk
	NFDN 1001	Nursing Foundations I: Introduction to Nursing	Ackley & Ladwig's Nursing Diagnosis Handbook: An Evidence-Based Guide to Planning Care, 13th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Canadian Fundamentals of Nursing, 7th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses, 18th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Available as an eBook (3 users)
	NFDN 1002	Nursing Foundations II: Basic Nursing	Ackley & Ladwig's Nursing Diagnosis Handbook: An Evidence-Based Guide to Planning Care, 13th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Canadian Fundamentals of Nursing, 7th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses, 18th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Available as an eBook (3 users)
	NFDN 2003	Nursing Foundations III: Medical-Surgical Nursing	Ackley & Ladwig's Nursing Diagnosis Handbook: An Evidence-Based Guide to Planning Care, 13th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Canadian Fundamentals of Nursing, 7th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses, 18th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Available as an eBook (3 users) Lewis's Medical Surgical Nursing in Canada, 5th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk
	NFDN 2004	Nursing Foundations IV: Maternity Nursing	Canadian Maternity and Pediatric Nursing, 2nd Edition Available at the Library Help Desk SUGGESTED: Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses, 18th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Available as an eBook (3 users) Ackley & Ladwig's Nursing Diagnosis Handbook: An Evidence-Based Guide to Planning Care, 13th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health Professionals, 11th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk
	NFDN 2005	Nursing Foundations V: Pediatric Nursing	Canadian Maternity and Pediatric Nursing, 2nd Edition Available at the Library Help Desk SUGGESTED: Ackley & Ladwig's Nursing Diagnosis Handbook: An Evidence-Based Guide to Planning Care, 13th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses, 18th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Available as an eBook (3 users) Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health Professionals, 11th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk
	NFDN 2006	Nursing Foundations VI: Community Nursing	Stanhope & Lancaster's Community Health Nursing in Canada, 4th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk
	NFDN 2007	Nursing Foundations VII: Mental Health Nursing	Psychiatric & Mental Health Nursing for Canadian Practice, 5th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk SUGGESTED: Ackley & Ladwig's Nursing Diagnosis Handbook: An Evidence-Based Guide to Planning Care, 13th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk
	NFDN 2008	Nursing Foundations VIII: Transition to Graduate Nursing	Yoder & Wise's Leading and Managing in Canadian Nursing, 2nd Edition Available at the Library Help Desk SUGGESTED: Mosby's Comprehensive Review for the Canadian PN Exam Available at the Library Help Desk Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health Professionals, 11th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk
	NPRT 1001	Nursing Practice I: Continuing Care Practice	Ackley & Ladwig's Nursing Diagnosis Handbook: An Evidence-Based Guide to Planning Care, 13th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Canadian Fundamentals of Nursing, 7th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses, 18th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Available as an eBook Lilley's Pharmacology for Canadian Health Care Practice, 4th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health Professionals, 11th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Understanding Pathophysiology, 2nd Edition Available at the Library Help Desk SUGGESTED: Jarvis Pocket Companion for Physical Examination & Health Assessment, 4th Canadian Edition Available at the Library Help Desk
	NPRT 2101	Nursing Practice II: Acute Care Practice - Medicine	Ackley & Ladwig's Nursing Diagnosis Handbook: An Evidence-Based Guide to Planning Care, 13th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Canadian Fundamentals of Nursing, 7th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses, 18th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Available as an eBook (3 users) Lewis's Medical Surgical Nursing in Canada, 5th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Lilley's Pharmacology for Canadian Health Care Practice, 4th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Understanding Pathophysiology, 2nd Edition Available at the Library Help Desk SUGGESTED: Jarvis Pocket Companion for Physical Examination & Health Assessment, 4th Canadian Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health Professionals, 11th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk
	NPRT 2102	Nursing Practice III: Acute Care Practice - Surgery	Ackley & Ladwig's Nursing Diagnosis Handbook: An Evidence-Based Guide to Planning Care, 13th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Canadian Fundamentals of Nursing, 7th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses, 18th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Available as an eBook (3 users) Lewis's Medical Surgical Nursing in Canada, 5th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Lilley's Pharmacology for Canadian Health Care Practice, 4th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Understanding Pathophysiology, 2nd Edition Available at the Library Help Desk SUGGESTED: Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health Professionals, 11th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Jarvis Pocket Companion for Physical Examination & Health Assessment, 4th Canadian Edition Available at the Library Help Desk
	NPRT 2200	Nursing Practice IV: Comprehensive Practice	Ackley & Ladwig's Nursing Diagnosis Handbook: An Evidence-Based Guide to Planning Care, 13th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Canadian Fundamentals of Nursing, 7th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses, 18th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Available as an eBook (3 users) Lewis's Medical Surgical Nursing in Canada, 5th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Lilley's Pharmacology for Canadian Health Care Practice, 4th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Understanding Pathophysiology, 2nd Edition Available at the Library Help Desk SUGGESTED: Jarvis Pocket Companion for Physical Examination & Health Assessment, 4th Canadian Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health Professionals, 11th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk

PATH / PHAR / PHRM

Book Cover	Course Code	Course Name	Course Textbooks at the Library
	PATH 1000	Pathophysiology for Health Care	Understanding Pathophysiology, 2nd Edition Available at the Library Help Desk SUGGESTED: Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, and Health Professions, 11th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Lilley's Pharmacology for Canadian Health Care Practice, 4th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk
	PATH1010	Pathophysiology	Gould's Pathophysiology for the Health Professions, 7th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk
	PATH 1020	Pathophysiology for Rehab	Gould's Pathophysiology for the Health Professions, 7th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk
	PHAR 1000	Basic Pharmacotherapeutics	Lilley's Pharmacology for Canadian Health Care Practice, 4th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Davis's Canadian Drug Guide for Nurses, 18th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Available as an eBook (3 users) SUGGESTED: Nursing Diagnosis Handbook: An Evidence-Based Guide to Planning Care, 13th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, and Health Professions, 11th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk
	PHRM 1000	Introduction to Pharmacy Practice	Communication Skills in Pharmacy Practice: A Practical Guide for Students and Practitioners, 7th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Compounding Available at the Library Help Desk
	PHRM 2008	Non-Prescription and Complementary Therapies	Compendium of Therapeutics for Minor Ailments, 2019 Edition Available at the Library Help Desk

THPR / TRDC / WELL

Book Cover	Course Code	Course Name	Course Textbooks at the Library
	THPR 1103	Therapeutic Modalities	Biophysical Agents: Theories and Practice, 4th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk
	THPR 2027	Occupational Therapy Foundations of Mental Health & Cognition for Assistants	Mental Health Concepts & Techniques for the Occupational Therapy Assistant, 5th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk
	TRDC 1010	Therapeutic Recreation: Intervention Programming Theory	Therapeutic Recreation Program Design: Principles and Procedures, 6th Edition Not available in print
	TRDC 2001	Therapeutic Recreation: Client Assessment	Client Assessment in Therapeutic Recreation Services Available at the Library Help Desk Therapeutic Recreation: A Strengths Approach, 2nd Edition Available at the Library Help Desk
	TRDC 2002	Therapeutic Recreation: Program Design	Therapeutic Recreation Program Design: Principles and Procedures, 6th Edition Not available in print
	TRDC 2003	Therapeutic Recreation: Evidence Based Program Planning & Facilitation Project	Therapeutic Recreation Processes And Techniques: Evidence-Based Recreational Therapy, 8th Edition Available at the Library Help Desk Available as an eBook (unlimited users)
	WELL 1000	Wellness Through Leisure	Therapeutic Recreation: A Strengths Approach, 2nd Edition Available at the Library Help Desk