Online Teaching

Accessing Faculty Library Resources

Since March 2020, the library has expanded its virtual services and adapted existing services and supports in response to the transition to online delivery across all educational programs.

Currently available library services and supports are listed in alphabetical order.

Chat Service

• Use the Ask Us chat box for live on-demand help during business hours.
• For more in-depth help, library staff are assisting students using Blackboard. Request this help through chat on the library website

Digital Collections Access

• All NorQuesters have access to a comprehensive online collection of eBooks, articles, audiobooks, videos, and more - https://library.norquest.ca/find.aspx
• Students and faculty are encouraged to contact library staff in the event of difficulties logging in, or check out the Online & Distance Learning (https://libguides.norquest.ca/librarybasics) guide, which has detailed information about using our services, including:
• eBooks (https://libguides.norquest.ca/librarybasics)
• Logging-in to access resources (off-campus) (https://libguides.norquest.ca/librarybasics)
• Do you need books, articles, or other materials not available at the library? You have a couple of options:
• Check Google Scholar (http://scholar.google.ca) to see if the article is freely available, or
• Request the item through interlibrary loan (https://norquest.libwizard.com/f/ILL)
  • Please note that we will do our best to fill your request, but many libraries are not currently loaning items via interlibrary loan due to the COVID-19 pandemic. We thank you for your understanding.

Information Literacy Instruction

Through a blend of services and online delivery modes, librarians continue to provide instruction. Topics include, but are not limited to:

• Locating library resources
• Formulating a research strategy
• Finding and choosing credible sources
• Using and citing scholarly information
• Avoiding plagiarism

Information about the Library Instruction Program can be found in this guide. (http://libguides.norquest.ca/information-literacy/instruction-program)

Interested in integrating library instruction into your course? This flowchart outlines the process in easy steps. (http://libguides.norquest.ca/ld.php?content_id=35483669)

Moodle-Embedded Library Instruction

In the absence of in-class teaching and a physical Learner Centre, and with Moodle now being the primary “classroom” and point of contact for students, the library is offering Moodle-embedded library instruction and support.
Options include:

• Library Resources Block 

Liaison Librarians

The Liaison Librarian program facilitates collaboration and service coordination for faculty, students, and staff across all college program areas. If you are developing curriculum for a course or program your liaison librarian can develop co-curricular resources such as research guides (tutorials, learning assets, etc.), and ensure digital and print resources supporting specific topics and program disciplines are added to the collection.

Please contact your liaison librarian with library-related questions and requests. A full listing of liaisons by program (in addition to all library contacts) can be found here. (http://libguides.norquest.ca/faculty-services/liaison)

Moodle-Embedded Library Instruction

In the absence of in-class teaching and a physical Learner Centre, and with Moodle now being the primary “classroom” and point of contact for students, the library is offering Moodle-embedded library instruction and support.

Options include:

• Library Resources Block (http://libguides.norquest.ca/linking/library-block)
• Customized Library Block with specific resources
• Liaison Librarian contact information
• Hosting a research/citation forum
• Embedding library tutorials and activities
• Online APA course (can be connected to gradebook to verify completion)
• And more…

To find out more and make a request please visit this page. (https://norquest.libwizard.com/f/embed)

View our Library Instruction Flowchart here. 

Linking to Library Resources in your Moodle Course

Would you like to embed specific library resources directly in your course? The library licenses an extensive collection of databases, ebooks and online video. While there are restrictions on downloading these materials, the licenses permit instructors to embed and place links to library resources in their online courses.

This comprehensive guide (http://libguides.norquest.ca/linking/home) provides instructions for embedding specific resources using stable and persistent links. Note: permanent links (also called permalinks, stable URLs, durable URLs, etc.) should always be used when embedding library resources.

Research and Citation Support – In-Person Online

• Students can contact Librarians by email (library@norquest.ca) to make arrangements to virtually meet using Blackboard.
• Library Office Hours Online (http://libguides.norquest.ca/librarytoyou/officehours) are offered Monday-Friday 10am-2pm.

Reserve Collection Scan-on-Demand Service

• The Reserve Collection includes most required textbooks for courses offered at NorQuest College; however, it is currently unavailable. If a student needs a small portion of a textbook required for your course, the library can a scanned PDF of up to 1 chapter or article from the book. Requests are filled within 24 - 48 hours, Monday - Thursday. Students will need to fill out the request form (http://norquest.libwizard.com/f/ILL) with as much information as possible. A staff member will respond as soon as the request is ready.