Skip to main content

MLA 8th Edition

JOURNALS

 Last Name, First Name, and First Name Last Name. "Title of Source." Title of Container, vol. x, no. x, Year, pp. xx-xx. Title of Container, Location. (DOI or URL without http://)

Example:

 Cohler, Bertram J. "Life Writing in the Shadow of the Shoah: Fathers and Sons in the Memoirs of Elie Wiesel and Leon Weliczker Wells." International Journal of Applied Psychoanalytic Studies, vol. 7, Mar. 2010, pp. 40-57. Academic Search Complete, doi:10.1002/aps.227.

 or

 Gaudet, Janice C., and Diane Caron-Bourbonnais. "It's in Our Blood." AlterNative: An International Journal of Indigenous Peoples, vol. 11, no. 2, 2015, pp. 164-176. Academic Search Complete, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=103205001&site=ehost-live&scope=site.

(Database URLs)

Two authors: Last Name, First Name, and First Name Last Name.
 Three or more authors: Last Name, First Name Initial., et al.

 Last Name, First Name. "Title of Source." Title of Container, vol. x, no. x, Year, pp. xx-xx. Title of Container, Location. (DOI or URL without http://)

Example:

Fromm, Harold. "Sylvia Plath, Hunger Artist." The Hudson Review, vol. 43, no. 2, 1990, pp. 245-256. hfromm.net/Plath2.pdf.

Two authors: Last Name, First Name, and First Name Last Name.
Three or more authors: Last Name, First Name Initial., et al.

MAGAZINES

 

Last Name, First Name, and First Name Last Name. "Title of Source." Title of Container, vol. x, no. x, Year, pp. xx-xx. Title of Container, Location. (DOI or URL without http://)

Example:

Wagamese, R. "Lemon Pie and Finding Ali." Canadian Dimension, vol. 41, no. 1, 2007, pp. 8-9. ProQuest, proquest.umi.com/pqdweb?RQT=302&COPT=REJTPUcwJklOVD0wJlZFUj0y&clientId=59668&cfc=1

Last Name, First Name Initial., et al. "Title of Source." Title of Container, Date, Location. (URL without http://) 

Example: 

Connolly, Jess. "Back to the Data Mine." The Walrus, 10 May 2016, thewalrus.ca/back-to-the-data-mine/

Last Name, First Name Initial., et al. "Title of Source." Title of Container, Date, Location (page range).

Example: 

Estroff Marano, Hara. "An Element of Protection: Magnesium is a Mineral Essential to Mental Health." Psychology Today, May-Jun. 2016, pp. 29-30.

 


 Last Name, First Name Initial. "Title of Source." Title of Container, edited by First Name Last Name, vol. x, Publisher, Year, pp. xx-xx. Title of Container, Location. (URL without http://)

 Example:

 Gerstel, Naomi. "Gender Gap."  Encyclopedia of Social Problems, edited by Vincent N. Parrillo, SAGE Publications, 2008, pp. 392-394. Gale Virtual Reference Library, go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE%7CCX3074000241&v=2.1&u=edmo88243&it=r&p=GVRL&sw=w&asid=d6ce18f534b0d0c6b66b8bb8391a6965.


 Last Name, First Name Initial., et al. "Title of Source." Title of Container, Date, Location. (URL without http://)

 Example:

 Griffin, Marie. "Sylvia Plath - Poet, Author: Great Talent in Great Darkness." Verywell, 24 Mar. 2015, www.verywell.com/sylvia-plath-poet-author-378742.

 No Author:

 “A Guide to Paris for Literature Lovers.” Girls Guide to Paris, girlsguidetoparis.com/guide-paris-literature-lovers.


 Author Last Name, First Name. Title of Source. Publisher, Year. Title of Container, Location. (URL without http://)

 Example:

 Strong, Jeremy, et al. Genre Matters : Essays in Theory and Criticism. Intellect, 2006. ProQuest ebrary, site.ebrary.com/lib/norquest/detail.action?docID=10096214.

Database URL

If there is no DOI (digital object identifier), cite from the database using the home page (entry page) URL of the appropriate NorQuest database provider below:

Ebsco databases:

search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost

Gale databases:

find.galegroup.com/gps/start.do?prodld=IPS&userGroupName=edmo88243

ProQuest databases:

proquest.umi.com/pqdweb?RQT=302&COPT=REJTPUcwJklOVD0wJlZFUj0y&clientId=59668&cfc=1