Educational Assistant

In Beyond Behaviors, internationally known pediatric psychologist, Dr. Mona Delahooke describes behaviors as the tip of the iceberg, important signals that we should address by seeking to understand a child's individual differences in the context of relational safety.

Many of us experience adversity that has a lasting impact on our physical and emotional health. What happens to us in childhood is a powerful predictor of our risk for health problems down the road and offers scientific insights into the patterns of behaviors so many struggle to understand. Oprah Winfrey and Dr. Bruce Perry work together to use storytelling together with science and clinical experience to better understand and overcome the effects of trauma.

Written specifically for child- and youth-care professionals, teachers, and foster parents, No Such Thing As a Bad Kid is packed with information for anyone who lives or works with kids at risk. Based on the premise that misbehavior is a coded message, this empowering handbook guides you through the decoding process and, via hundreds of hands-on tips and sample dialogues, into approaches capable of revolutionizing your interactions with troubled children and their interactions with the world. Even parents of children not at risk will benefit from this book.

In this edited collection, respected professor and scholar Allyson Jule brings together leading academics to discuss the evolution of student diversity in contemporary Canadian classrooms. This book explores a wide range of student complexities, including matters such as mental health, Indigenous education, queer education, youth radicalization and extremism, disability, religious practice, ESL, and refugee student support. This book equips teachers with the foundation needed to build a classroom that unpacks the social fabric of individual student and classroom populations from a place of deep understanding and compassion.

A ground-breaking new textbook, The Role of an Education Assistant offers guidance and insight to students who are learning about the growing and complex role of education assistants. This includes how to support academic, social, inclusive, and independent learning environments in schools and collaborate with parents and teachers in the planning and evaluation of student progress. Divided into four sections, this text addresses education assistant professional standards, mental health and wellness, culture and diversity, and the challenge of supporting all students in the classroom.

This fourth book in the series looks at problems that can occur in an advocacy partnership, such as dependency on the advocate and conflict between partners. It also discusses advocacy and the law.

The world needs great individual educational changemakers capable of identifying problems and creating bold, scalable solutions. But the world also needs Dream Teams -groups of talented administrators, teachers, staff, students, and community members who are passionate about making things better for kids, believe that school-based change is the means to this end, and are willing to roll up their sleeves and work together to achieve it. Here, you'll find a collection of practical ideas and tools designed to fuel transformational leadership without sacrificing instructional excellence or anyone's sanity. Whether your team is a group of fearless rebels, more cautious types, or somewhere in between, Tait and Faulkner's flexible approach can help you figure out where you want your school to go, build a more collaborative and creative culture, and generate the solutions that best serve your students.

Educators have become increasingly interested in the diverse learning environments of young children and the ways in which children and childhood are positioned within those environments. Adopting an interdisciplinary approach, Rachel M. Heydon and Luigi Iannacci shed light on the ways in which joint notions of normality and abnormality are used to pathologize childhood. As teachers and educational researchers, they offer first-hand accounts of processes that take individual children and turn them into 'others' who are seen as deficient or 'at risk.'

This practical guide shows readers how to get the most out of educational coaching. It details: Models of coaching that enhance teachers' thinking, help them overcome obstacles to success, and lead to lasting change. Three phases of the problem-solving cycle. Characteristics of effective coaching conversations. Components of CAT-connectedness, acceptance, and trustworthiness-that are essential to the partnership.

Educational Theories and Practices from the Majority World draws attention to ethnocentrism in educational research and practice. Whether it is educational theory, research or educational practices, most of the discourse is strongly marked by one single model, Western, so-called "modern" schooling. Scientific knowledge about education is typically seen as Western, and non-Western contexts are made subject to Western paradigms of inquiry. This book counters this Western ethnocentrism and suggests some means to fight it. The Western perspective stems from a minority and it does not represent the majority of the world population that is situated outside of Europe and North-America.

To provide the right supports for struggling students in grades pre-K to 12, your school team needs a thorough understanding of the skills that contribute to learning—and a systematic way to help students with a wide range of learning difficulties. This innovative planning guide is your key to identifying and prioritizing the essential skills that students with and without learning difficulties need to succeed.

Healthy mental, emotional, and behavioral (MEB) development is a critical foundation for a productive adulthood. Much is known about strategies to support families and communities in strengthening the MEB development of children and youth, by promoting healthy development and also by preventing and mitigating disorder, so that young people reach adulthood ready to thrive and contribute to society.

Advocacy for people with disabilities is widely practised, but what about self-advocacy? How often do parents or carers speak `for' you and prevent you being heard? Do you know your rights within advocacy law? The four books in the Speaking Up set were conceived and written specifically to promote self-advocacy to disabled individuals who want to learn how to speak up for themselves. This first book in the series introduces the concept of advocacy and explores appropriate advocacy models, for example peer group supportive models, and examines different forms of advocacy such as campaign advocacy, crisis or intervention advocacy, volunteer advocacy and health complaints advocacy.

Offering an alternative approach to standardization and data-driven mandates, this book puts children at the center of planning your curriculum. Rather than a prescriptive curriculum, by using The Thinking Lens® protocol, teachers can translate educational theories into concrete ideas for working with children and families. Learn to create a welcoming classroom culture, develop routines for self-regulation, and use Learning Stories to enhance experiences for the children in your care.

This third book in the series uses examples of advocacy to explore how to be a good advocate, emphasising the importance of listening to and working with an advocacy partner and explaining how to prepare for and behave in meetings.

Today, more than ever, greater emphasis is placed on inclusive practices and the collaboration between general and special educators to ultimately ensure student success. 'Mastering the Art of Co-Teaching: Building More Collaborative Classrooms' addresses research-based strategies, practices and theories which can be readily translated into classroom practice. Important issues that commonly arise in co-teaching partnerships, as well as professional and personal challenges faced by teachers are also tackled.

What does a great paraprofessional need to know and do? Find out in this handy survival guide, equally useful for the brand-new paraprofessional or the 20-year classroom veteran. Packed with friendly guidance, practical tips, and relatable first-person stories, this book reveals the best ways to provide effective, respectful services to students in inclusive classrooms. Julie Causton-Theoharis, a teacher, professor, and educational consultant with more than 10 years of experience as a paraprofessional instructor, knows exactly how to help readers stop feeling overwhelmed so they can start making a difference.

The International Handbook of Teacher and School Development brings together a collection of research and evidence-based authoritative writings which focus on international teacher and school development.

This second book in the series explores the idea of rules and standards for advocacy and looks at the advocacy charter. It covers issues such as whether an advocate should share a confidence if they are worried that their advocacy partner might self-harm.

The Sociology of Childhood and Youth Studies in Canada explores ways to effectively conduct research in academic and non-academic communities and to engage youth in our society. Featuring material from the Children, Childhood, and Youth Research Cluster's sessions of June 2015, this timely reader discusses the relationships between researchers and youth participants, the effectiveness of arts-based methodologies, and the impact of literature, consumerism, and inclusive education policies on the development of social constructions of childhood.

Extensively revised, this new edition provides the theoretical underpinnings of practitioner action research as well as the "how-to" information necessary for classroom application.

Are you looking for a book that explains all the key ideas on how children learn, and how to best support children in that learning? This book will be essential reading for Teaching Assistants studying for Foundation Degrees, or for the Higher Level Teaching Assistant qualification. Students on any course looking at how children learn (such as Early Childhood and teacher training courses) will likewise find this book covers all the key themes. Lyn Overall is Principal Lecturer at Sheffield Hallam University.

Paraeducators--also known as teacher aides, teaching assistants, and instructional assistants--are playing an increasingly important role in schools. Most teachers, however, have never been trained to work effectively with other adults in their classrooms. In A Teacher's Guide to Working with Paraeducators and Other Classroom Aides, Jill Morgan and Betty Y. Ashbaker provide straightforward advice and focused activities that can help forge a productive working relationship between teachers and paraeducators.

What do we mean by reflective practice? What does it involve? How can it help you develop as a teacher? The Teacher's Reflective Practice Handbook is an essential source of advice, guidance and ideas for both student and practising teachers.

Now in its second edition, Teaching and Learning through Reflective Practice is a practical guide to enable all those involved in educational activities to learn through the practices of reflection. The book highlights the power that those responsible for teaching and learning have to appraise, understand and positively transform their teaching. Seeing the teacher as a reflective learner, the book emphasises a strengths-based approach in which positivity, resilience, optimism and high performance can help invigorate teaching, enhance learning and allow the teacher to reach their full potential. This approach busts the myth that reflection on problems and deficits is the only way to better performance. The approach of this new edition is an 'appreciative' one. At its heart is the exploration and illustration of four reflective questions: What's working well? What needs changing? What are we learning? Where do we go from here? With examples drawn from UK primary teacher education, the book reveals how appreciative reflective conversations can be initiated and sustained. It also sets out a range of practical processes for amplifying success. This book will be a must have for undergraduate and PGCE students on initial teacher training programmes. It will also interest practising teachers, teacher educators and those on continuing professional development courses.

This book is the ultimate guide to differentiation in early years, schools and further education settings by Sue Cowley, bestselling author of Getting the Buggers to Behave. It offers over 90 practical and time-saving strategies for effective differentiation in every classroom.The Ultimate Guide to Differentiation demonstrates how teachers already differentiate much of the time, in subtle and creative ways. Sue Cowley shows that we need to understand, acknowledge and celebrate the variety of approaches that teachers already use to differentiate, as well as helping them to develop additional strategies. The book takes the reader through the different methods and approaches to differentiation, providing a step-by-step guide to each. It is broken down into five core areas - planning, resources, learners, teaching and assessment - and readers can dip in and out to find strategies as and when they need them. Written in Sue's much loved realistic, honest and practical style, The Ultimate Guide to Differentiation will help teachers, practitioners and support staff to feel confident that they are meeting the needs of every learner.

Need creative ideas for moving UDL from theory to practice? Get this must-have quick guide, ready for any teacher to pick up and start using now. Whitney Rapp, co-author of the acclaimed Teaching Everyone, walks you step by step through 100 UDL strategies that strengthen student engagement, learning, and assessment. Based on the latest research (but still practical and fun!), these highly effective ideas will help you address diverse learning needs and increase all students access to the general curriculum.

A comprehensive collection of essays from leading experts on family and community engagement The Wiley Handbook of Family, School, and Community Relationships in Education brings together in one comprehensive volume a collection of writings from leading scholars on family and community engagement to provide an authoritative overview of the field. The expert contributors identify the contemporary and future issues related to the intersection of students' families, schools, and their communities.

This substantially updated edition is clear and concise, packed with precisely written summaries of developmental and behavioral issues for all pediatric clinicians and other healthcare professionals. In a succinct, heavily bulleted style, the authors offer practical guidance on addressing important questions many parents ask about their children's development and behavior. Ideal for the busy clinician to quickly and efficiently access helpful clinical information on the fly.