Educational Assistant

Here's the succinct handbook that will allow everyone to enjoy the beauty and functionality of American Sign Language. 1,000 Signs of Life: Basic ASL for Everyday Conversation illustrates a potpourri of intriguing and entertaining signs that can be grasped quickly and used to communicate with anyone familiar with ASL, deaf or hearing.

The number of dual language learners in early childhood classrooms is expanding every year--and teachers often feel underprepared to bridge language barriers and effectively meet these students' learning needs. Help is here in this book--a toolbox of today's best strategies for supporting children and families from diverse backgrounds and ensuring the academic and social success of young dual language learners. Early childhood educators will get an invaluable collection of 45 practical, developmentally appropriate strategies for teaching dual language learners (both Spanish speakers and children who speak other languages).

This new edition represents an updated collection of advanced sign language vocabulary facilitating enriched vocabulary development and elevated academic standards. This collection of signs reflects the vocabulary one would encounter in an educational or employment-related setting intended for use by educators, interpreters, parents, and anyone wishing to expand their sign language vocabulary. The signs have been collected from established base signs and initialized signs observed within the Deaf community.

This unique reference can help users locate a sign whose meaning they have forgotten, or help them find the meaning of a new sign they have just seen for the first time. It organizes more than 1,900 ASL signs by 40 basic handshapes and includes detailed descriptions on how to form these signs to represent the different English words that they might mean.

Open up a whole new world of communication through ASL You can easily learn ASL with help from The American Sign Language Phrase Book. With more than 500 phrases, this is the reference guide to everyday expressions in American Sign Language, providing a quick way for you to converse with deaf people. Clearly illustrated with hundreds of line drawings, this book focuses on areas such as health, family, school, sports, travel, religion, time, money, food and drink, and small talk. The American Sign Language Phrase Book gives you the power to communicate easily and comfortably in ASL.

Essential sign language knowledge for use in conversation, this 6-page laminated guide covers the most important aspects of communicating in ASL. Includes photo examples of often-used words and phrases to illustrate concepts of action and/or movement that make communication clear while adding emotional emphasis that always makes for good conversation.

This book explores children's meaning making of the books they learn to read with, especially relating to the intersections of race, gender and class. Based on research using a participative, innovative design with young children, issues of identity, belonging and classroom hierarchies are explored in complex and poignant ways by the children.

Effective Communication with Children and Youth was born out of various workshops the author conducted for Sunday school teachers and youth workers in various towns and villages in Kenya where she worked as a missionary and communication lecturer. This book is aimed at encouraging people who work with children and youth to deepen their communication skills.

Literacy improves lives—and with the right instruction and supports, all students can learn to read and write. That's the core belief behind this teacher-friendly handbook, your practical guide to providing comprehensive, high-quality literacy instruction to students with significant disabilities. Drawing on decades of classroom experience, the authors present their own innovative model for teaching students with a wide range of significant disabilities to read and write print in grades preK–12 and beyond.

The domain of Communication Disorders has grown exponentially in the last two decades and has come to encompass much more than audiology, speech impediments and early language impairment. The realization that most developmental and learning disorders are language-based or language-related has brought insights from theoretical and empirical linguistics and its clinical applications to the forefront of Communication Disorders science.

Based in cutting-edge research in neuroscience, education, and the principles of attachment-based teaching, this important guide for parents offers tools and practices to help children transcend language-based learning difficulties, do better in school, and gain self-confidence and self-esteem. If your child has a language-based learning difficulty--such as dyscalculia, dyslexia, and auditory processing disorder--they may have to work twice as hard to keep up with their peers in school. Your child may also have feelings of frustration, anger, sadness, or shame as a result of their learning differences. As a parent, it hurts to see your child struggle. But the good news is that there are proven-effective strategies you can learn to help your child be their best. This book will show you how.

As more and more secondary schools and colleges accept American Sign Language (ASL) as a legitimate choice for second language study, Learning to See has become even more vital in guiding instructors on the best ways to teach ASL as a second language. Students will be able to study ASL and gain a thorough understanding of the cultural background, which will help them to grasp the language more easily.

This book takes a fresh look at approaches to teaching reading, writing and communication skills. It presents a wealth of innovative ideas specifically designed to support visual learners, including those with autism spectrum conditions and special educational needs. Some children are more responsive to visual stimulation than spoken words, and this book shows how to engage these children in literacy lessons by using strategies that cover everything from the latest assistive technology to getting creative on a limited budget.

Keep up with the latest on the highly respected multisensory teaching approach to literacy with this new fourth edition, a complete update of the bestselling textbook adopted in colleges and universities across the country. The most comprehensive text available on multisensory teaching, this book prepares today's educators to use specific evidence-based approaches that improve struggling students' language skills and academic outcomes in elementary through high school.

This book honors the adventure that learning is meant to be and aims to make happiness more tangible in the classroom. By infusing school days with happiness, teachers can support children as they become stronger readers, writers, and thinkers, while also helping them learn that strength comes from challenge, and joy comes from leading a purposeful life.

Angela Wilson focuses on enhancing the speaking and listening skills of the pupils whom you support, analyzing how you can develop their skills, offering advise and guidance on a variety of learning styles and a breakdown of main principles of speaking and listening.

The goal of this text is to help teachers in diverse classrooms understand the importance of students' culture, languages, and schooling experiences to curriculum, assessment, and student achievement. Readers will learn about aspects of specific cultures and languages that are important to their understanding of their students, and they will discover that cultures that are often considered similar may not be so (and why they aren't). Finally, the text focuses on how teachers can integrate languages and cultures into classrooms and how to account for students' backgrounds and funds of knowledge when devising tasks.