Educational Assistant

This practical guide expands upon the Unstoppable Learning model to explore accessible learning for all students. Through specific curriculum and environmental accommodations and modifications, as well as personal and technology supports, K-12 teachers will discover how to provide differentiated instruction to students with varying needs, from physical disabilities to twice-exceptionality. Forms, tools, and diagrams designed to aid instructional planning are also included.

K-12 educators will learn how to use the three key principles of UDL (Engagement, Representation, and Action & Expression) to present information in multiple ways and meet the needs of diverse learners. Written in first person, like a face-to-face talk with a passionate educator, the book gives teachers a reader-friendly UDL primer and a practical framework for implementation, with detailed guidelines on lesson planning and checkpoints that help them stay on track.

Dive into UDL shows K-12 educators how to incorporate UDL in their instructional design and engage in continuous professional growth. The book will also appeal to those in coaching positions and to administrators seeking to support their staff. The book: offers three modes of entry to allow educators to "start where they are" in their understanding of UDL and how it applies to their areas of instruction; shows educators how to enhance and transform their instructional practices by applying a UDL lens to analyze and redesign lessons; illustrates how to design accessible materials and use technology to provide more options for learners; and highlights how UDL is foundational to inquiry-based, project-based and constructivist hands-on learning.

This lively book contains the kind of guidance that could only come from veterans of the middle school science trenches. The authors know you're crazy-busy, so they made the book easy to use, whether you want to read it cover to cover or pick out sections to help you with lesson planning and classroom management. They also know you face new challenges, so they thoroughly revised this second edition to meet the needs of today's students.

Empowering Children through Art and Expression examines the successful use of arts and expressive therapies with children, and in particular those whose lives have been disrupted by forced relocation with their families to a different culture or community. The book explores how children express and resolve unspoken feelings about traumatic experiences in play and other creative activities, based on their observations of peer support groups, outreach programs and through individuals' own accounts.

A complete, comprehensive play therapy resource for mental health professionals Handbook of Play Therapy is the one-stop resource for play therapists with coverage of all major aspects written by experts in the field. This edition consolidates the coverage of both previous volumes into one book, updated to reflect the newest findings and practices of the field.

This volume includes examples of theory, research, policy, and practice that will advance our understanding of how best to encourage these children and adolescents to participate regularly in physical activity, how to maximize the biopsychosocial benefits of involvement in physical activities, and how to ensure that these physical activities are inclusive for children and adolescents with special needs. The focus will be placed on research-derived physical activity practices that seed success for children and adolescents with special needs, and new directions in theory, research, and practice that have implications for enhancing physical activity practices with at-risk children and adolescents.

This book is an important resource for pre-service and in-service teachers, as well as families in applying the theory of self-efficacy to support learners in becoming confident and assured in their ability to understand and apply mathematical principles and procedures. Coupled with classroom ready mathematics instructional strategies, the book provides readers with the background, tools and strategies needed to carry content success and confidence forward to remain persistent in solving all future mathematical problems.

Play as Therapy provides background theory and practical applications of original research on play assessment and interventions used in therapy. The book offers a solid foundation for identifying and assessing play dysfunction, understanding play in different cultural contexts and considerations when intervening with play. The practical approach is underpinned by theory, research and case vignettes to explain how to utilise play as therapy with challenging children.

Christine Macintyre emphasises the importance of creating an environment where children become confident, independent learners, increasingly able to use their imaginations, care for others and to take safe risks. This fully revised edition of Play for Children with Special Needs includes new research findings and explains their implications for practice. This book then enables those supporting children to: understand the benefits of play and how to adapt different scenarios to support children who do not find it easy to play.

Sow the seeds of science and wonder and inspire the next generation of Earth stewards The School Garden Curriculum offers a unique and comprehensive framework, enabling students to grow their knowledge throughout the school year and build on it from kindergarten to eighth grade. From seasonal garden activities to inquiry projects and science-skill building, children will develop organic gardening solutions, a positive land ethic, systems thinking, and instincts for ecological stewardship.

How can inclusive early educators plan and deliver challenging instructions to help all young learners succeed in kindergarten? This guide has authoritative answers from some of today's most renowned names in early childhood education. Presenting the Children's School Success+ (CSS+) framework, for building a UDL-based plan for inclusive preschool instruction, this book is a powerful tool for using your existing curriculum to address each child's unique learning needs.

STEPS (Science Tasks Enhance Process Skills) to STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics) is an inquiry-based science curriculum supplement focused on developing upper elementary and middle students' process skills and problem-solving abilities characteristic of how scientists think and act.

Ideal for Introduction to Special Education/Introduction to Exceptionalities courses, this supplementary text provides strategies pre-service and in-service teachers can use to apply the principles of Universal Design for Learning (UDL) to their lesson planning. UDL lesson planning considers "up front" potential barriers that could limit access to instruction for some learners and helps teachers brainstorm possible solutions before lessons begin.

Teaching STEM Literacy is comprised of ready-made, open-ended lessons reviewed and tested by teachers, which help educators integrate STEM learning into the early childhood classroom.

In Teaching to Diversity, Dr. Jennifer Katz synthesizes the research, and 16 years experience of teaching in inclusive classrooms and schools, to provide answers to several questions: How do I make inclusion work for ALL students? What are the foundational best practices of a truly inclusive learning community? How does one create such a community? The author pulls together, in an organized way, a three-block model of universal design for learning (UDL) and suggests a step-by-step approach for implementing it.

Need creative ideas for moving UDL from theory to practice? Get this must-have quick guide, ready for any teacher to pick up and start using now. Whitney Rapp, co-author of the acclaimed Teaching Everyone, walks you step by step through 100 UDL strategies that strengthen student engagement, learning, and assessment. Based on the latest research (but still practical and fun!), these highly effective ideas will help you address diverse learning needs and increase all students access to the general curriculum.

In this lively and fun book, UDL experts Allison Posey and Katie Novak describe colleagues who have implemented UDL and experienced exponential success: increased graduation rates, an increase in the number of students taking AP exams, and decreased special education referrals and out-of-school suspensions. However, they have also found that sometimes, even when teachers learn about UDL and believe in its power to transform their teaching and learning environments, many still do not change. They don't believe this is because educators are, unwilling to make changes, but perhaps because they may not think there is a strong reason to change, or perhaps they do not know the first steps to take.