Research Guides: Educational Assistant: Academic/Research Resources

How-To Videos

What is a Journal Article?
This short video explains what a journal is, and the difference between a magazine article and a journal article.
What is a Database?
An explanation of online collections of electronic books and journals.
More Learning Tutorials
Follow this link to discover more learning tutorials.

Only current NorQuest students and staff are able to access online resources from off campus. Because of this, you will be required to login to view ebooks or journal articles through the library's website.

You will see this link at the top of the page when you search for items through our catalogue. Clicking on this will take you to the Portal where you can log in with your NorQuest email and password (like Moodle, MyQuest, and MyMail). If you are already logged in, you will not have to sign in a second time.

Contact the library by email library@norquest.ca, phone (780) 644-6070, or chat if you still are unable to login.

Logging into online resources - A step by step guide
A step by step guide that walks you through using the logging in process required to access online resources through NorQuest College Library.

LibKey Nomad
Free (and private) browser extension that connects you to articles found online that are also available through the NorQuest Library.

Key Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Leading resource for scholarly research in key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.
Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Current and historical Canadian newspaper access. Includes Globe & Mail and Edmonton Journal (updated daily).
Canadian Reference Centre This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to Canadian and international periodicals, full-text reference books, biographies and images from the Canadian Press.
CBCA (Canadian Business & Current Affairs) Complete This link opens in a new window
Broad coverage from a Canadian perspective spanning business and economics, education, government and politics, health sciences, history, literature, social sciences and more.
Trade & scholarly journals, magazines, books, newspapers, reports.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Full-text education journals covering all levels of education, from early childhood to higher education, plus multilingual education, health education and testing.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) This link opens in a new window
An authoritative database of education literature and resources, considered an essential tool for education researchers of all kinds.
Gale OneFile: CPI-Q (Canadian Periodicals) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Canadian and Canadian-focused journals, magazines, and newspapers.
Relational Child & Youth Care Practice (RCYCP) This link opens in a new window
This journal is committed to promoting and supporting the profession of Child and Youth Care through disseminating the knowledge and experience of individuals involved in the day-to-day lives of young people.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers many academic areas including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, racial studies, religion and social work.
The Teaching Professor This link opens in a new window
The Teaching Professor keeps readers informed of pedagogically sound techniques, new ideas, strategies that work, and pragmatic approaches for enhancing student learning and improving instructional effectiveness, regardless of teaching modality or academic discipline.

BASE
BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 240 million documents from more than 8,000 content providers. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.