Skip to Main Content

Linking to Library Resources

How to link to library resources such as databases, ebooks, articles or online video

What is a Persistent Link?

This link is not what appears in your browser's address bar. You need to look in the item record for a permanent link. A persistent link may also be referred to as permalink, permanent link, stable URL, durable URL, etc.

The URL (Uniform Resource Locator or Web address) that appears in Internet Explorer's or another Web browser's address box, when an online article is viewed, is usually intended to be temporary and often does not function a few days or weeks later. Links designated as "permanent", "persistent" or "stable" are designed specifically to remain active and useable over time.

 

Linking to Full Text Articles in EBSCO Databases

All Ebsco Databases EBSCOhost is a powerful online reference system accessible via the Internet. It offers a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases from leading information providers.

  1. Connect to the Ebsco database and conduct your search with Limit to full text selected.
  2. From the results list, click on the title of the article you wish to link.
  3. On the detail page of the article, choose Permalink from the Tools menu on the right side of the page.
  4. Right above the title a box labelled Permalink will open with the persistent url
  5. Copy the whole new link into your course or webpage.

   example of a completed link:

https://auth01.norquest.ca/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=a9h&AN=63622514&site=ehost-live

Linking to Full Text Articles in Gale Databases

All Gale Databases We partner with college and university librarians to collect, preserve, and organize rare content as part of our extensive collection of primary source archives and educational databases—bringing resources that are specifically designed for online learning into the classroom.

  1. Connect to the Gale database and conduct your search.
  2. From the results list, click on the title of the article you wish to link.
  3. On the detail page of the article, choose "Get Link" on the top right side of the page.
  4. A pop-up window will open. The persistent url is listed under "Use this link to get back to this page"
  5. Copy the url and paste it into Notepad or Word
  6. Copy the library off-campus authentication prefix link   https://auth01.norquest.ca/login?url=
  7. Paste the prefix link in front of the persistent url and copy the whole new link into your course or webpage

 

   example of a completed link:

https://auth01.norquest.ca/login?url=https://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE%7CA372449949&v=2.1&u=edmo88243&it=r&p=CPI&sw=w&asid=278bfd268cf974f200d93eb06cec889c

Linking to Full Text Articles in JSTOR

JSTOR Essentials Collection

JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
  1. Connect to the JSTOR database and conduct your search.
  2. From the results list, click on the title of the article you wish to link.
  3. On the detail page of the article, look for the Stable URL on the left of the page.
  4. Copy the Stable url into Notepad.
  5. In front of the Stable url add the library off-campus authentication prefix link   https://auth01.norquest.ca/login?url=
  6. Copy the whole new link into your course or webpage.
   example of a completed link:

Linking to Full Text Articles in ProQuest Databases

All ProQuest Databases ProQuest is a key partner for content holders of all types, preserving and enabling access to their rich and varied information. Those partnerships have built a growing content collection that now encompasses 90,000 authoritative sources, 6 billion digital pages and spans six centuries.

 
  1. Connect to the ProQuest database, select Full text and conduct your search.
  2. From the results list, click on the title of the article you wish to link.
  3. Click the ... All Options icon located on the top right corner of the page. 
  4. The persistent url is located at the top of the box that pops up once you click the All Options button.
  5. Copy the whole new link into your course or webpage.

   example of a completed link:

https://auth01.norquest.ca/login?url=https://search.proquest.com/docview/269447782?accountid=4810

Creative Commons LicenseThis work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License. Details and Exceptions.