Skip to Main Content

Linking to Library Resources

How to link to library resources such as databases, ebooks, articles or online video

How to Link to Ebook Central eBooks (ProQuest)

Ebook Central (formerly Ebrary) Ebook Central delivers, with breadth and depth of ebooks from scholarly sources, including University Presses and other top publishers.
  1. Click on the Ebook Central collection link on the Articles & Databases page under the Find tab on the Library website.
  2. Search for the title you wish to link
  3. Click on the link for the title of the ebook.
  4. Click on "Share Link to Book" on the left side of the detail page for the ebook.
  5. Copy the URL link into your course or webpage.

 example of a completed link:

https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/norquest-ebooks/detail.action?docID=4396387

 

Note: When you have an ebook open, you can see listed under Availability whether there is "unlimited access" or "access to 1 copy". The Availability section also lists whether the ebook may be downloaded or not.

*Ebook Central adds and withdraws titles from the subscription collections on a regular basis. 

‚Äč

How to Link to Gale eBooks

Gale eBooks Gale, a Cengage company, partners with librarians and educators around the world to connect learners to essential content through user-friendly technology that enhances experiences and improves learning outcomes
  1. Click on the Gale eBooks collection link on the Articles & Databases page under the Find tab on the Library website.
  2. Search for the title or choose the title from the Title List from the navigation bar.
  3. Click on the title of the book
  4. Click on the Get Link button on the navigation bar on the top right.
  5. Copy the url from the Copy the Bookmark Url section and paste into the link into your course or webpage.

  example of a completed link:

https://auth01.norquest.ca/login?url=https://go.gale.com/ps/i.do?p=GVRL&sw=w&u=edmo88243&v=2.1&it=etoc&id=GALE%7C9781414405070&sid=GVRL

How to Link to EBSCO Ebooks

Ebsco Ebooks EBSCO eBooks has a wide selection of academic e-books from top publishers and presses.
  1. Click on the Ebsco Ebooks collection link on  the Articles & Databases page under the Find tab on the Library website.
  2. Search for the ebook title you wish to link to.
  3. From the results list, click on the title of the ebook you wish to link.
  4. On the detail page of the ebook, choose Permalink from the Tools menu on the right side of the page.
  5. Right above the title a box labelled Permalink will open with the persistent url
  6. Copy the link into your course or webpage.

 example of a completed link:

https://auth01.norquest.ca/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=576901&site=ehost-live&scope=site

NOTE: At the bottom of the detail page of the ebook is listed the Concurrent User Level. The user levels will usually be listed as 1 user, 3 users or Unlimited User Access.