Skip to main content

Tutorial and Academic Coaching Services: Contact us!

Get in touch

If you have any questions, concerns, comments, or suggestions, or if you just want to say hi, here is how you can contact us:

In person: Come see us in the Learner Centre on the 2nd floor of the Singhmar Centre for Learning (downtown Edmonton campus).

We are open:

Monday through Friday, 8 am - 4:30 pm

Note: We are closed weekends with statutory holidays, and Thursdays from 10-11 a.m.

Call us: 780-644-5864 or toll free at 1-866-534-7218

Email us: tutorial.coaching@norquest.ca

Who are the tutor-coaches?

Ayuuba BA, MA. M.S.Ed

Ayuuba was born and raised in Ghana in West Africa. He had his Bachelor of Arts degree at Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, Ghana. He pursued his graduate studies at Purdue University in the United States where he obtained a Master of Science in Education with specialty in special education, as well as a Master of Arts in Languages and Cultures (French). While pursuing his graduate studies at Purdue University, he worked as a graduate teaching assistant. Prior to that he practiced as an English and French tutor at the Ghana Institute of Languages. He has spent some time with Aurora College in the Northwest Territories as a Community Adult Educator.  He enjoys working with students and takes delight in their academic success. He spends his spare time with family, staying indoors and watching movies.

 

Beth BEd, MEd

I’m originally from the wild, wild west of Montana, but our family relocated to Red Deer, Alberta when I was a ‘tween’.  My education took some twist and turns as I started out in science at Red Deer College with the intention of being a microbiologist.   I then ventured into learning French and moved to Quebec to attend L’Universite Laval.  Upon returning, I studied French immersion education and pursued a Bachelor of Education with a major in science at the Faculte St. Jean campus, University of Alberta.  After teaching elementary French as a generalist for many years and two exchanges to England and Australia, I did my Masters of Education in Leadership Studies through University of Portland.  I joined the Tutorial and Academic Coaching team at NorQuest in October, 2019.  I am thrilled to be working with our amazing students and staff.  I love learning something new every day!  In my leisure life, I absolutely adore the outdoors, gardening, running, skiing, family and pet adventures as well as drawing and reading.

 

Cris B.AS (Hons), MA

I was born and raised in Toronto, Ontario and moved to Edmonton in September 2019. I graduated from the University of Guelph-Humber with a Bachelor of Applied Science in Early Childhood Studies and a diploma in Early Childhood Education. Then, I went on to complete a Masters in Developmental Psychology and Education at the University of Toronto. My research involved preliminary investigations around children’s ability to reflect and identify their learning in the classroom. Throughout my post-secondary career, I was a student orientation leader at Guelph-Humber, a peer tutor, sat on the board of directors as a student representative and even a swimming instructor! These diverse opportunities have allowed me to shift my career focus from children to working with adult learners, such as yourselves at NorQuest. In my spare time, I enjoy watching movies, going on road trip adventures and perfecting a baking recipe!

 

Ibby BSc, BEd

I was born in Nigeria and moved to Canada to start my university education. I received my Bachelor of Mathematics from Carleton University and my Bachelor of Education from the University of Ottawa. After completing my Bachelor of Education, I moved to Edmonton, worked at NorQuest for a year before returning back to Nigeria to teach. I came back to Edmonton after teaching and found my way back to NorQuest. I enjoy traveling, cooking and spending time with my family and friends.

Katharine BMus, BSc, BEd 

Born and raised in Edmonton, I have moved back and forth between Edmonton and Calgary in my adult life. After completing a BMus at the University of Calgary, I returned to Edmonton to teach privately. During this time I realized how much I missed mathematics, so I completed a BSc in Mathematics and a BEd in Secondary Education at the University of Alberta; I also began tutoring at the Edmonton John Howard Society.  After graduation, I taught junior high mathematics and music in Calgary from 2009 to 2013 before returning to Edmonton. I have been part of the NorQuest math and science tutorial team since January 2014, and am delighted to be working with adults again. I enjoy music, playing card games, and reading.

Kristina BA (Hons), MA, BEd

Although I was born and raised in Calgary, Edmonton has been my home since 2004. Seven years later (in my late twenties), I decided I was going to become a university professor like my grandfather. I started as a part-time student in the Bachelor of English (Honours) program at MacEwan University in 2011. I eventually transitioned into being a full-time student before graduating in 2015. I then pursued a Masters in English and Film Studies at the University of Alberta, which I completed in 2016. Instead of transitioning into a doctoral program, I decided to go for a Bachelor of Education with specializations in English Language Arts and English as a Second Language. In 2018, I graduated from the program with distinction. Seven years after my academic journey began, I started helping talented and remarkable NorQuest students (like you!) work towards their goals. In my free time, I listen to podcasts while running or working out at the gym. I also like watching House of Cards or listening to vinyl while I cook.

Kyle BSc, BEd

I was born and raised here in Edmonton, Alberta. After graduating from the University of Alberta with bachelor degrees in Sciences and Education, I spent several years teaching in rural Alberta including Elk Point, Lamont and Fort Saskatchewan before finding my way here to NorQuest. During the winter I enjoy playing sports like volleyball while in the summer I try to go camping in the mountains as often as possible.
 

Melissa BEd

Born and raised in a small farming community in Northern Alberta, I came to Edmonton to pursue my Bachelor of Education degree at the University of Alberta and stayed in the greater Edmonton area.  After completing my BEd and spending some time travelling in Europe and Asia, I started my teaching career west of Edmonton where I taught for eight years in K-9 schools.  I then worked as an Academic Success Coordinator at a local college and began pursuing my Master of Education degree.  Recently, my family and I took a gap year to live and work in Hong Kong and took advantage of travelling opportunities in Asia.  I enjoy spending time with my family and taking our dog, Lucy, for walks in the river valley.‚Äč

Moises BSc, BEd

I was born in El Salvador and then moved to Canada in 2010. I graduated from MacEwan University with a Bachelor of Science (Major in Biology and Minor in Chemistry) before attending The King’s University to pursue an after degree in Secondary Education. Throughout my academic career, I have tutored and mentored many immigrant students. I hope to continue supporting newcomers with my experience, knowledge and skills in the complex modern school environment. I have also been a substitute teacher for Elk Island School District which have allowed to be more adaptable to teach different classes. I started at NorQuest College in July 2019 and I am excited about the opportunity to tutor and coach students in Academics and also in Math and Science. I enjoy spending time with my family and friends, going for walks to the park, and playing the guitar. I also love Spanish Churros!

Nettie BEd, BSc 

Hello!  I have lived in Edmonton my whole life, despite my aversion to cold weather! My first experience tutoring others was in high school and although I didn’t realize it at the time, it influenced my decision to pursue teaching later on. After completing my Bachelor of Science and Bachelor of Education at the University of Alberta, I worked in various positions supporting students with disabilities at NAIT and the U of A. What I love most about working at NorQuest are the many opportunities I have to share and learn from students and colleagues. In my spare time, I enjoy practicing hot yoga, doing calligraphy and discovering new restaurants in the city.

 

Travis BSc, MSc

I am a huge nerd. West coast born and raised, I attended the University of Victoria for my Bachelor of Science degree. I majored in chemistry, but took a bunch of other science courses for fun. After that, I moved to Ottawa to pursue a Master of Science degree in organic chemistry. There, I discovered underwater hockey, one of the world’s more obscure sports. After graduate school, I was offered a job in Edmonton working for Gilead Sciences, a growing pharmaceutical company; I spent four years there as both a research chemist and a trainer for new employees. In October 2016, I joined NorQuest as a full-time science and math tutor and I am excited to share my love of science with the students! I am an avid reader, cook, explorer, Winnipeg Jets fan, and foundry of useless knowledge.

 

TACS Chat Box

Hours

All Services:

Summer Hours

Monday - Friday

8 am - 4:30 pm

Saturday

Closed

Please note we are closed every Thursday 10am - 11am and weekends with statutory holidays

Questions?

Use the live chat above

Email us: tutorial.coaching@norquest.ca

Call us: 780-644-5864 or toll free at 1-866-534-7218

 

Quick Links

Library

Academic Skills for Success

To learn more about other Student Services you can access click here