Skip to Main Content

Spotlight

Quick Links

Jump To:

Read
Watch
Listen
Community Resources

Resource List

Resource List

Freedom to Read
In order to enhance accessibility, this document provides quick access to the resources found on this page. To access a resource, simply click on the name of the title.

Freedom to Read Week

Libraries are responsible for upholding standards of intellectual freedom by providing access to an unrestricted and diverse collection, in a safe space. Every library should strive for collections and spaces that allow a variety of ideas and voices to be heard. Please join us in celebrating Freedom to Read Week by exploring our resources; including those that may be considered controversial.

Read

Books from Library Catalogue (login required)

Crank

Audiobook

The Golden Compass

Easy Reading Collection

The Handmaid's Tale

On Shelf

Go Ask Alice

Audiobook

A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius

Audiobook

Killing Kennedy : the end of Camelot

Audiobook

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone

eBook or Easy Reading Collection

Snow Falling On Cedars

Easy Reading Collection

Lady Chatterley's Lover

eBook

Peyton Place

eBook

When Everything Feels Like The Movies

Easy Reading Collection

Three Wishes : Palestinian and Israeli Children Speak

eBook

To Kill A Mockingbird : A Graphic Novel

On Shelf

Betty : the Helen Betty Osborne story

Easy Reading Collection

Good Families Don't

Juvenile Collection

Maxine's Tree

Juvenile Collection

A Little Piece of Ground

eBook

Who's In Maxine's Tree

On Shelf

Fan Phenomena: Star Wars

eBook

The Giver

Easy Reading Collection

The Satanic Verses

Audiobook

Thirteen Reasons Why

On Shelf

Sons and Lovers

Easy Reading Collection

Bless me, Ultima

Audiobook

Readings (free or no login required)

The Shifting Landscape for Intellectual Freedom

Article

Book Bans and the Librarians Who Won't Be Hushed

Article

Why your kid should read banned books

Article

A Rising Tide of Censorship: Recent Challenges in Canadian Libraries

Article

Censorship in Canadian Schools

Article

Banned Books: Librarians Push Back Against Censorship

Article

Censorship or Protection?

Article

PowellsBooks.Blog

Blog

Watch

Videos from Library Catalogue (login required)

The Color Purple

On Shelf

The Hate U Give

Rated PG

Catch 22

Rated R

Animal Farm

Adult Accompaniment

The Giver

Rated PG

The Great Gatsby

Rated PG

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

Rated PG

Clockwork Orange

Rated R

The Grapes of Wrath

Rated PG

Snow Falling On Cedars

On Shelf

Lolita

Adult Accompaniment

Lord of the Flies

Rated Adult Accompaniment

The Outsiders

Rated Adult Accompaniment

Of Mice and Men : Context and Background

The Hunger Games

Rated PG-13

1984

Rated PG

Videos (free or no login required)

Markus Zusak on books and the freedom to read

Controversy at Noon: Book Banning in Alberta and Canada

Angela Gaines Stands for the Banned Reading Monster

Bookmans does Banned Books Virtual Read-Out

Banning Books In The 21st Century

Professor Stone gives Talk : Banned Books & Intellectual Freedom; Shimer College: Bright Ideas Series

Dav Pilkey, Creator of CAPTAIN UNDERPANTS, on Banning Books

Banned Books Inside U.S. Prisons

Listen

Podcasts (free or no login required)

Project Censored: The Freedom to Read and Learn

Banned Books | A History of Putting Books on Blast

Intellectual Freedom

Part-Time Genius

CAG! 105 – Banned Books

We Read Banned Books

Banned Library

Centre for Free Expression

Community Resources

Freedom to Read

Resource Overview : Know Your Rights Use Your Voice

"Report Censorship" Toolkit

Bookcrossing: Free a Challenged Book