Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

APA 7th edition

Webpages

 

Format: 

Author, A. (Year). Title of webpage in italics. Site Name. URL

Example:

Smith, M., & Robinson, L., & Segal, J. (2019). Depression symptoms and warning signs. HelpGuide. https://www.helpguide.org/articles/depression/depression-symptoms-and-warning-signs.htm

 

Format:

Name of Group. (Date). Title of webpage in italics. URL

Example:

Mayo Clinic. (n.d.) Depression (major depressive disorder). https://www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/depression/symptoms-causes/syc-20356007

 

Name of Group. (Date). Title of webpage in italics. Site Name. URL

  • If author/association have the same name as the website, omit the Site Name.
  • When using multiple pages from the same site, each page has a separate reference.

  • Examples:

    Webpage with publication date:

    Zero to Three. (2016, February 25). Learning to write & draw. https://www.zerotothree.org/resources/305-learning-to-write-and-draw

    Webpage with no publication date:

    Federal Accessibility Legislation Alliance. (n.d.). Accessible Canada Act in plain language. https://www.include-me.ca/federal-accessibility-legislation-alliance/resource/accessible-canada-act-plain-language

    Webpage, Site Name different than author.

    Open Education Global. (n.d.). Community of practice for open education. Community College Consortium for OER. https://cccoer.org

     
    • Retrieval information is included only if information may be updated or modified, such as census or population data.

    Format:

    Name of association. (Date). Title of webpage in italics. Retrieved Month Day, Year, from URL

    Example:

    Worldometer. (n.d.). Countries in the world by population. Retrieved January 26, 2020, from https://www.worldometers.info/world-population/population-by-country/

     

    Format

    Author, A. (Year, Month Day). Title of article. Name of website in italics. URL

    Example

    Urban, T. (2013, July 8). 7 ways to be insufferable on Facebook. Wait But Why. https://waitbutwhy.com/2013/07/7-ways-to-be-insufferable-on-facebook.html

    • Omit site name if same as author (as in example below). 

    Geist, M. (2019, May 2). Does Canadian privacy law matter if it can't be enforced? http://www.michaelgeist.ca/2019/05/does-canadian-privacy-law-matter-if-it-cant-be-enforced/‚Äč

     

    Online dictionaries, encyclopedia, etc.

    • Spelling should conform to the Merriam-Webster.com Dictionary
    • Cite what you see. If referencing an archived entry, and the full date of publication (2018, March 26) is not provided, use what information is available to you: (2018, March), (2018), or (n.d.) if there is no year of publication.
    • If you are using an entry that is continuously updated, use "n.d." as year of publication and include a retrieval date in (Month Date, Year) format.
     

    Format:

    Author. (Year). Title of entry. In Source Information in italics. Retrieved Month Day, Year from URL

    Example:

    Merriam-Webster. (n.d.). Argue. In Merriam-Webster dictionary. Retrieved December 8, 2016, from https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/argue

     

    Format:

    Author. (Year). Title of entry. In Source information in italics. Retrieved Month Day, Year from URL. 

    Example: 

    Cowie, D. (n.d.). A Tribe Called Red. In The Canadian Encyclopedia. Retrieved January 5, 2020 from https://www.thecanadianencyclopedia.ca/en/article/a-tribe-called-red

     

    Other web resources

     
    • Use the dates of the conference in Year, Month Dates format, e.g. (2020, May 4-6). 

    Format

    Presenter, A. (Year, Month Dates). Title of contribution in italics [Type of contribution in brackets]. Conference Name, Location. DOI or URL

    Example

    Scmidt, J. (2018, May). Innovate this! Bullshit in academic libraries and what we can do about it [Paper presentation]. The Canadian Association of Professional Academic Librarians Conference, Regina, Saskatchewan. https://digital.library.ryerson.ca/islandora/object/RULA%3A7113 

     

    From Moodle

    Instructor, A. (Year). Title of resource in italics [PowerPoint slides]. Name of institution. URL login for learning management system (Moodle).

    Example:

    Sereda, S. (2020). The joys of research: How I learned to stop worrying and love the database [PowerPoint slides]. NorQuest College. https://myclass.norquest.ca/

    Publicly available

    Format:

    Surname, A. (Year, Month Day). Title of PowerPoint in italics [PowerPoint slides]. Site Name. URL

    Example:

    Simmon, R. (2014, January 25). Four public speaking tips from standup comedians [PowerPoint slides]. Slideshare. https://www.slideshare.net/rosssimmonds/four-public-speaking-tips-from-standup-comedians

     
    • Use the login page URL for site requiring login.
    • NOTE: If your instructor has used other sources in their Powerpoint or lecture notes, you must recognize the original source as well as the secondary source. Please see information on secondary sources and indirect citation for details.

    Format: 

    Instructor, A. (Year). Title of resource in italics [Resource description in brackets]. Name of institution. URL login for learning management system (Moodle).

    Example:

    Sereda, S. (2020). The joys of research: How I learned to stop worrying and love the database [PowerPoint slides]. NorQuest College. https://myclass.norquest.ca/

    or

    Sereda, S. (2020, May 22). [Lecture notes on evidence-informed practice]. NorQuest College. https://myclass.norquest.ca/